We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barriemore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Situated right on the water in Oban. 10 minutes fron the downtown area with eating places and shopping. Beautiful solarium to relax and have a drink in. Service was superb. Owner lives right next door. Great accommadations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 102anytimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and all was very comfortable. The location is excellent, we walked everywhere. The staff were nice and generally helpful. We booked a room with double bed though they only had standard twin available but we were also told to feel free to move the two single beds together. All in all, a comfortable and convenient stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we stayed here for just 1 night and wish we could stay for a week. the town and the guest house were both so charming.

a very warm welcome by the owner herself followed by a tour of the room with her. we had a very nice sea facing room with a lot of personal detailing including a pair of binoculars to gaze at the beautiful marina.

breakfast was great too with plenty of choice for everyone.

the conservatory next to the breakfast room was cozy with a fabulous view.

would definitely go back for a few days on the next visit to scotland

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiravMeswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed there for a night in on of the top level bedrooms with sea view. The room was tidy, view from the windows was wonderful, wine glasses in the room was a nice bonus (shame on me for forgetting the bottle opener =)).

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luccik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely modern room with an extremely comfortable bed and proper bathroom. Friendly welcome when we arrived. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful location overlooking the islands - wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirlys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner arrived no booking necessary was offered the suite and wow was amazing and got a discount also friendly staff management helpful stunning views clean room we liked it do much decided on another night but had a different room not as nice as the suite but still a lovely room breakfast was lovely even tho we left early in the morning there was a breakfast bag made up for us both will definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Weeman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A really lovely guest house...warm welcome and lovely atmosphere. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the water, and what a beautiful room it was. A pair of binoculars awaited us on the window sill and we made great use of these to view the passing traffic on the waterways as the ferry's pass by regularly.
There were a number of small touches that made this place special - sherry/port in the room and real wine glasses (I have come to loathe the plastics throw away cups that are more common than not!).
The breakfast was enjoyable as well. My husband ate the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and was delighted with this - a generous serve of smoked salmon fillet.
The hotel is located an easy walking distance to town.
The only very small downside was that the wifi was a bit hit and miss. We had to go out into the stairway to pick it up. It may be that our room was a bit far from the modem.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water to enjoy the sea faring activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barriemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barriemore Guest House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £84 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barriemore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barriemore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barriemore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing