We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some TLC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunollie Museum, Castle and Grounds

Dunollie Museum, Castle and Grounds
Ranked #7 of 47 things to do in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and discover the fascinating heritage of Dunollie Museum, Castle and Grounds, Seat of the Clan MacDougall for more than 1000 years. - 1745 House Museum: Old Lairds House Exhibition which features 'Mirror of History Exhibition', part of the Hope MacDougall Collection - Castle Ruin: Take in stunning views towards Kerrera and beyond - Enchanting Gardens: Come along the woodland trail and explore the Faerie Garden, Willow Hall and World of Trees. - Weaving Cottage: You may find some volunteer weavers at work - Kettle Cafe: Enjoy some delicious home baking, snacks and refreshments - Old Drapers Gift Shop: Browse a selection of gifts exclusive to Dunollie Mon - Sat: Castle Tours at 11 am or 2 pm Sun: Piping at the Castle 2pm Children's activities and special events all year round. Please check the website for more details.
Sutton in Craven
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Interesting historically but the metal fencing thrown around it spoilt any chances of a decent photograph.

To be fair I have heard that they have a Government Grant to make it more tourist friendly.

The cafe was great and the walk there was lovely. The shop needs to carry more interesting stock and lacked a wow factor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    111
    48
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An interesting insight into Scottish and local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We would have enjoyed the nature trail better without the rain but the interest notices were helpful. The 1745 house was very helpful and the guide on duty was particularly friendly and helpful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarquisJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good place to spend some quiet time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The house was very interesting and well laid out, with several original artefacts from years gone by.

The castle is up quite a steep track. The only thing that spoilt it a bit is the fencing they have put around it. I appreciate it is not safe and need to keep people out. But, it could have been without lots of metal fencing clipped together.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well done to the family, volunteers and U3A”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The last time we visited Oban was seven years ago. We climbed up to what remained of the castle, admired the view and nervously took a photo near the ruins which were obviously dangerous. We were unaware that the family who's ancestors lived in the castle were beavering away with plans to open up Dunollie House. They have displayed many items which were once used in the castle and in the house which was nice to see rather than replicas and/or items from the same period brought in as examples. We sat outside with a sandwich and coffee bought from the little snack bar, grateful for the large canopy as it was a showery day. A lot of hard work has gone into Dunollie, with more to come. I wish the familiy and volunteers the best of luck in the future and hope to visit the castle again when it has been consolidated.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JED000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning views and interesting artifacts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The tourist information in our rental cottage and the local tourist website stated that Dunollie castle had reduced opening hours and free entry on Sundays. So we turned up just after 1pm on Sunday. Unfortunately it turned out that they had changed their charges for this season and Sundays are no longer free. Despite it still being reduced opening hours on Sunday, the price is the same any day. The 1745 house is also on this site and there were volunteers on hand to guide you around the exhibition in a small part of the building. This provides a great insight into the family that lived there. They are welcoming and reasonably knowledgeable. My husband was particularly taken with the naval memorabilia on display and the unusual artefacts such as the bone necklace could have been part of a fun little quiz for the kids quite easily. The little Kettle refreshments cabin served some lovely cakes and the list of rolls made us wonder if we should have had lunch there. Luckily it was a beautiful day so the fact that the only seating was outside actually worked very well, not sure what this would have been like if the weather had not been so amenable. We walked up the very steep little path to the castle ruins. This path could probably have done with being steps as it was a little sllippy going back down. The views form the top are pretty spectacular. Unfortunately it is here that it is most evident that the place is staffed by volunteers and lacking funding, A good tidy up of the greenery here is badly needed. This would also be a rather superb location for a picnic bench. We had great fun watching the boats go in and out of Oban. The willow garden is not signposted but we did find it. Sadly the volunteers were there doing some serious woodland clearing and the noise of their shredder wrecked the peace of this little garden. The drapery was also a nice little find and there was a rather interesting story behind the discovery of the tartan. The old tin bath in the toilet was the topic of much discussion amongst our children. This place could really do with a general gift shop though which would probably help with their much needed funds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunollie Museum, Castle and Grounds also viewed

 

Been to Dunollie Museum, Castle and Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing