We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY ENJOYABLE COMFORTABLE STAY”
Review of Rowantree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rowantree Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY ENJOYABLE COMFORTABLE STAY”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed at hotel for the weekend with partner and 2 children, hotel room was very clean, well decorated with a very comfortable double bed. Staff were exceptionally helpful especially as one of the children were ill. The Steakhouse restaurant is a must if you are staying in Oban even if not in the hotel, def need book a table especially on the weekend as extremely busy, food in restaurant was better than TJi Fridays or other such restaurants. Excellent menu, excellent food and service. Full cooked breakfast or contintental buffet in the moning was very fresh and topped up regularly. Overall fantastic stay, will be returning and would recommend. Sandra Glasgow

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    109
    82
    33
    15
See reviews for
36
184
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed in room 109 for one night and at first glance all appeared well. We got a reasonable deal through laterooms and didn't have high expectations, we were only in Oban for one night. Very happy on arrival, the room was spotless as was the bathroom which is very important! We didn't have a great view even though our room was at the front of the building but it wasn't a huge concern as we were in Oban to experience the town.
However, on returning after a lovely night out our problems began. There didn't appear to be any problems with the bed to start with but through the night myself and my partner both woke up on numerous occasions -the bed was like sleeping on bricks and ridiculously uncomfortable. You can also hear every move of your neighbours and those above you which is a little off putting.
Our rate included breakfast which was ok, to be honest we weren't impressed. My partner is vegetarian and had limited options from the cooked breakfast and we had to request brown bread to toast rather then it being readily available....and it took half an hour to appear!
Staff are very pleasant but on the strength of the most uncomfortable night we have ever had I would hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luizeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is a basic tourist class hotel with off street parking behind the hotel. We booked two double rooms and were assigned two very nice large rooms at the front of the hotel. The second of the two rooms had not been cleaned and another very small double on the back was assigned. No consideration was given in the rate charged for this very cramped room. The response received was that all the rooms were the same rate. Really? Seems like poor business management, at best.

The rooms have been updated, but the same needs to be done with the rest of the hotel.

The restaurant serves a good steak.

Room Tip: Confirm what you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The actual place wasn't too bad, room was small and basic but had what you needed. The visit was ruined however by the strong smell of chip pan, strongly in the room and even stronger in the bathroom. I presume it was to do with the venting from the kitchen below being too close to the vents from the bathroom but it was at times unbearable, and sadly the only thing we will remember from our stay at the Rowantree!

Oban is a nice place though and the seafood is awesome!!....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

location 1st class
staff 1st class
food 1st class
rooms 1st class
value for money 1st class
free parking
yes we would book again and again
great for day trips or wknds or holidays
bill peter
aberdeen

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed for three nights on a visit to a conference. The most comfortable sleep I have had in a hotel bed in a long time. Very pleasant staff in a very pleasant hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLYBACON99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Just back from a two day stay in the Rowantree Hotel.
The location of this hotel is good ; easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, harbour and esplanade.
Our room was fine ; clean and obviously fairly recently refurbished.
The shower was very good but more hand rails or a non slip mat would make getting in and out of the shower safer.
The big negative was the breakfast which I have to say is the worst breakfast I have ever had in any hotel or guest house!
Things got off to a bad start when I saw the breakfast room ; very poorly set up tables placed too close together.
Breakfast consisted of poor quality fruit juice, tinned fruit, bargain basement quality cereal, stewed tea or bitter coffee.
The food on the hot plates had obviously been prepared earlier and was no more than lukewarm.
There has obviously been money spent on the Rowantree Hotel recently and I urge the management to make a review of their breakfast experience their next project !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross58Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Hotel

Property: Rowantree Hotel
Address: George Street, Oban PA34 5NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowantree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 recently refurbished bedrooms to a 3* plus standard all fully en-suite and offers first class bed and breakfast accomodation. The Rowantree hotel is somewhat unique to Oban - a town centre hotel with its own large car park, free to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowantree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing