We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time at rowan tree hotel”
Review of Rowantree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rowantree Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4th time at rowan tree hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we were back again for 2 night as usual rooms and staff 1st class yet again we allway find some where to see when we in oban
we always eat in the hotel steakhouse as meals are great value for money also full SCOTTISH BREAKFAST 1st class sets you up for the day

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    113
    83
    35
    15
See reviews for
38
188
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had one night in Oban and the Rowantree was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a double bedroom on the first floor, overlooking street and above restaurant, you couldn't have the window open, as traffic was noisy, but it was a large room, clean, and modern interior. The shower was a bit hopeless as couldn't get it to stay a certain temperature. Parking is on site but only enough room for 8 cars, and there are more than 20 rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed one night and have no complaints whatsoever. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is modern, very clean and fresh as was the room, and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and to top it all, we got the room at a fantastic rate. Free Wifi was great as my husband had work to do. Hotel had car park, so again a bonus. I would definitely stay again when in Oban.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back facing the car park and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casper1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had one night in Oban and our stay at the Rowantree was very comfortable. We had a first floor room overlooking the street and above the bar and restaurant. The room was large, comfortable, very clean and modern decor and furniture. The bathroom was of a high standard but the shower was not a power-shower, in fact just more than a dribble. After dining out, we returned to the hotel around 10pm and there was a disco in full swing in the bar/restaurant. Going back into our room, we realized we could hear the music and bass from the bar below. A visit to reception (strange, there wasn't a phone in our room) to voice our unhappiness about the disco, saw us put into a room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel. Much better and a bigger room too. We were happy with the move. Breakfast in the morning was a choice of materials but we went for the cooked breakfast which was freshly prepared, hot and tasty. I will say, with the exception of the lady who checked us in, the staff were young and not particularly customer friendly. An example was on our return to the hotel in the evening, we had to wait about 5 minutes for someone to come to the reception desk to give us our room key. They seemed to be too busy in the bar/restaurant to care about residents. Overall, our stay was comfortable and we felt it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tab2Tab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

it has been a good few years since I have stayed at the Rowantree and I was happily surprised with the refurbishment that has been done since my last stay. It looks the same from the outside but the inside is soooo much nicer, It looks very modern with the glass panels on the stairs & bare brick walls. The rooms aswell have had an overhaul.
My room was beautifully decorated and the ensuite again very nice. Free wifi is a bonus when on business.
I was on the 2nd floor at the front so did unfortunately hear a lot of noise from the Xmas parties being held in the bar but then again when you stay at a central hotel during the week before Xmas, these things are to be expected.
I cannot comment on the food as I did not have an evening meal at the hotel this time and for breakfast I only had cereal & fruit juice.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The Hotel also has a carpark, which in Oban is a rare thing.
I would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciderbabe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkhall
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Recently visited Oban for the first time with my boyfriend and stayed at the Rowantree. Room was bright, modern and clean. Hotel was centrally located and staff were polite and friendly.

Room was located at front of hotel on the first floor so we did experience some noise from traffic and from a function in the restaurant. On whole would go back.









  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

The rooms have been refuted and most comfy. I got a nice welcome, staff are interested in their customers and all warm and friendly. A hearty breakfast and average pub fate. I would certainly stay here again; here come the gripes... A vacuum was blocking my door, the room was extremely cold, but doomed warmed with the heater. There was an old sweaty polo shirt on the top shelf of my wardrobe, which I threw out. Behind that, the shelf was dusty. So a good place to stay, but more finer detail would be appreciated .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yermanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Hotel

Property: Rowantree Hotel
Address: George Street, Oban PA34 5NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowantree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 recently refurbished bedrooms to a 3* plus standard all fully en-suite and offers first class bed and breakfast accomodation. The Rowantree hotel is somewhat unique to Oban - a town centre hotel with its own large car park, free to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowantree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing