We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very nice at all”
Review of Rowantree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rowantree Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very nice at all”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very dated hotel on busy street. Limited on site parking. Restaurant has "cowboy" theme and subpar food. My husband and another male guest met in the stairwell and discovered they were both concerned about the hotel's fire safety!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    109
    82
    33
    15
See reviews for
36
183
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As previous reviews have stated,the hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment internally;the external work is continuing.

Our room was stylish,immaculate and had all that we required.Every member of staff we met was helpful and professional and attended to any needs quickly.

Breakfast was very good. Ok ,one or two things could be improved but you could say that of most meals.

The restaurant is a Steakhouse but there is a good choice of dishes and the quality was good.

Because of the fairly central position of the hotel, it is easy to get around the town.

We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our 4th visit since way back in 1995! It's the only hotel I would stay in Oban as it is now refurbished to a high standard and parking is no problem, a big plus for me.
We chose a rear room this time as the front rooms tend to be noisy with traffic on main road outside.
The restaurant serves piping hot meals, don't touch the plates, they are hot too.
We will come back here without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I liked it. The room was recently done in Danish style. Very nice room. My room looked out on million dollar houses that look out on the bay.

The breakfast is great and included.
Travel tip. To kill the noise at any European hotel just bring a flat fan. The o2 cool from Walmart for 14.95 works great. It plug is 110 to 240v. You won't need a transformer just a UK
/Ireland three pin or a mainland two pin plug converter. Same with your I phone plugs and computer plugs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Having paid £100 for one night's stay, I have to admit I was expecting something a bit more than what the Rowantree offers. The hotel from the front looks awful, outdated and basically a bit grim. The rooms are ok, having been recently re-furbished, but not very welcoming with having wood laminate flooring, instead of carpet..
We were unfortunate enough to have a room at the front of the hotel, even the triple glazing couldn't disguise the noise of the traffic outside.
The room walls were very thin, we could hear next door's TV even at 2am.
The bed's are uncomfortable - lumpy.
The bathroom whilst clean have been re-furbished but the showers are rubbish - water pressure too low.
However, the worst thing was breakfast. The juice is a small carton with a straw - it's cheap and tacky. The eggs benedict fared no better. Bacon undercooked, too much hollandaise sauce, so much so it was sickly, muffin not toasted but fried, egg over cooked. Not a good breakfast.
Should have stayed in a B&B - better value for money overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellow_belly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Not the easiest place to find...drove around the one way system at least 3 times before resorting to asking local....situated over the Oban Steakhouse, which seems to be owned by the hotel. Limited parking at rear accessed through an archway at the side of the hotel. The reception staff double up in the restaurant, but were very friendly and helpful despite being busy. Good enough room overlooking the main street, a little noise, but nothing to spoil a good night's rest. The hotel is slap bang in the mix of the town,...great for a short walk and easy access to the ferry terminal. After reviewing some of the other restaurants we decided to eat in, and were served good quality food. You couldn't call this a posh restaurant but it had an ambience. Breakfast was served in the same room, and served traditional scottish fayre.
Great place for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked this hotel in Oban based upon it having its own car parking close to the ferry, on this it delivered although the parking was accessed through an archway , not very clearly signed and the parking was very limited and shared with other properties .
We entered reception from the carpark and found it almost sleazy. The duty manager finished dealing with the customer in front, then made a private phone call before attending to us.
She then overcharged us (2 days not 1) which she refunded when we pointed it out.
Not a good start.
The room was clean but very small, facing the front and therefore quite noisy. We were woken by traffic at around 5am and people pulling their cases as they passed outside, presumably on their way to the ferry.
We were unable to access the internet despite many attempts and requests for help from staff.
Towels were a little 'grey' and very thin. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work.
Breakfast isn't served until 7.30 - so if you want to catch the ferry to the islands, you'll miss one of them.So we left before breakfast.
Overall overpriced and disappointing. They would best decide whether they are a hotel or a grill bar.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Hotel

Property: Rowantree Hotel
Address: George Street, Oban PA34 5NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowantree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 recently refurbished bedrooms to a 3* plus standard all fully en-suite and offers first class bed and breakfast accomodation. The Rowantree hotel is somewhat unique to Oban - a town centre hotel with its own large car park, free to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rowantree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing