We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Rowantree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rowantree Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rooms were good sized, clean and tidy. The hotel is well located, everything is within walking distance. However, it was very noisy, breakfast had limited options and the staff seemed not to care at all. Would probably not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    115
    84
    36
    18
See reviews for
39
192
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Not bad location but taxi needed if you arrive by train with luggage. Friendly welcome and was helped with bags to my room as there isn't a lift. Room is fine, basic type of furniture, comfy bed, very clean. Was only staying one night so all fine.... Downside is it has a steakhouse downstairs and the smell of stale cooking was unavoidable even though I was on the 2nd floor... This alone would put me off staying again, so much so that I didn't bother with the breakfast, needed fresh air! If they installed decent extractors they'd solve this instantly!

Room Tip: As far away from kitchen as possible might help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peeblesshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Upon arrival in Oban we were confused to of where we were to go (typical me not looking it up first!) But when we found it we were very very impressed. We were welcomed at reception by a very friendly guy and promptly given our key.

The room was immaculate and the bed was so comfy. My only complaint would be the shower and toilet - as you either had to soak the floor to get out or step over the toilet - but the shower itself was very lovely.

We then had dinner that night in the Steakhouse and the food was extremely delicious. The service was quick and all the waiter and waitresses were so friendly and obviously well trained.

We had breakfast the two mornings that we were there and it was fabulous. Even when me and my boyfriend were picky and asked for a couple things different in the breakfast - the waiter still smiled and served us quickly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Good position right in the centre of Oban on a very busy main road. Spotless clean room, albeit a little small with not a lot of clothes space, obviously newly furnished, with friendly staff. Just three little downsides, the car parking is rather hit and miss, only small and gets rather crowded, even though the hotel wasn't very busy whilst we were there it was a bit of a juggle to get your car in and if you went out for the day you might find no space when you returned. Also our room was in the back of the hotel obviously over the kitchen and we did get some cooking smells creeping up into the room, which I found a bit unpleasant. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, thought the prices were a bit high, but the breakfasts were adequate with a decent choice, served very efficiently and quickly and hot. Lastly, the refurbishment of the rooms has been done with wooden floors, nice and clean looking but not too efficient if theres an elephant or two in the room above you, especially at 6 in the morning ! But all in all, judging by the prices of other hotels in Oban, most of which had no car parking at all, the Rowantree would seem to be a good choice and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Even though we did get some cooking smells creeping into our room as we were at the back, I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollypensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely, bright fresh and clean. Lovely helpful staff. Very comfy big bed. The only reason I won't give Excellent is the shower fitting was at best woefully inadequate. It looks great and is obviously new but I had to dance around to ensure I was even close to rinsed. Such as shame as everything else was great.

Room Tip: Others have said to get a room at the back, but we loved the sun coming into our room in the early e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

rooms clean, bed big and comfy, tea making facilities in room well stocked ,iron and iron board also in room, staff all very friendly breakfast cooked to order very tasty also ate at the steak house food very good overall good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Rooms good. New refurbished. Very clean and tidy. Provides coffee and tea facilities as well as hair dryer, iron board etc. Bed nice and comfy. Power shower worked well too. Food excellent. All served on warm plates. Caters for all. Staff excellent and very friendly. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Hotel

Property: Rowantree Hotel
Address: George Street, Oban PA34 5NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowantree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 recently refurbished bedrooms to a 3* plus standard all fully en-suite and offers first class bed and breakfast accomodation. The Rowantree hotel is somewhat unique to Oban - a town centre hotel with its own large car park, free to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowantree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing