We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowantree Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
93
122
88
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
122
88
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakhouse restaurantno liftmain roadrooms are cleanwould stay againbooked this hoteltown centrecomfortable bednice breakfastone night staythe ground floorferry terminalreardistillerystopoverharbourwee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The good points good friendly staff (except when querying lack of kettle...more later) good location with parking comfortable tidy rooms

Which leads onto bad points as mentioned in other reviews. Noisy rooms door closers slam them shut, rubbish shower pressure and temperature regulation, cooking smells then the cost cutting no tea and coffee facilities cheap breakfast ingredients

We don't expect to need to carry a travel kettle in the uk for goodness sake we bought a kettle 2 mugs and some coffee sachets at tesco for a tenner as 4 days without was unthinkable

an ex staff member said it was all down to cost cutting and advised us to hide the kettle in case it was confiscated ! Mentioning where we were staying to other locals meant raised eyebrows and knowing looks

What a shame cutting costs on the basics is not the right area to save money in the hotel trade especially at £120 a night

Sort these issues and this place would improve immensely

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Terrible showers, no tea or coffee making facilities in room. Other than that ok. Rooms were clean and in good condition. Good location. Running out of comments to make, this is what is known as "padding" I believe.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Prem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Central location is good and the room was OK, except that when we arrived there were no tea and coffee making facilities, which had been advertised when we made the booking. When we queried the absence of kettle etc and said "it's shown on Booking.com as having these facilities" we were just told "well, we don't". So we were particularly annoyed when, as we were leaving after two nights, we spotted a huge crate full of kettles and trays at the bottom of the main staircase! We complained again and were told..."we're throwing them all out because nobody used them and the milks were going off"!!!!! Surely they could have offered us one and given us cups and a few tea bags from the restaurant, but the staff gave the impression that they couldn't care less. Breakfast was good, service quite prompt in the mornings. Not bad value at £108 per night.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the front, double glazing eliminated most noise from the busy street outside, but there was a lot of internal noise from adjacent rooms...there seems to be no noise insulation between rooms and we could hear occupants on the floor above walking round. The underlay of the laminate floors crackled under your bare feet! I managed to find some ear plugs for the second night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank discerningdiner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Great location recommend going down to the harbour and getting the £2return ferry to waypoint bar and grill on a little island fresh beautiful seafood delicious 5star food and hotel was clean and tidy reception was quiet hard to get someone to come when you rung the bell breakfast was ok but the usual full fry up :( rooms modern live football nice coffee would like to have paid a little less than £240 for 2 nights I feel it's only worth maybe £80 a night for a double room as I've stayed in places for less with dinner included and are much better for £50 so think they need to re think there prices all in all had a gd stay which is not great but not terrible

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank debbiemcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Rowantree Hotel for one night in June. The reception was warm and friendly. The initial impression of the hotel is very good and modern. The staircase leading to the accommodation floors is of a very contemporary design, which then lead you nicely to the modern rooms. The bedrooms are again, very modern in design, comfortable beds, good TV and a modern bathroom. The only small niggle with the room was that the shower only produces a trickle of water, no real stream as such, but this did not spoil our stay. Breakfast was very good and hot(watch your fingers on the plates unless you have asbestos hands). The location, bang in the centre of town was fantastic, with other hotels around charging far more, for nothing else I could see. Abundance of restaurants around and the seafront less than a minute away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews