We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
95
130
92
39
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
130
92
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakhouse restaurantno liftduty managercleaning staffmain roadwould stay againcomfortable bedtown centretrain stationtea coffeeone night staybreakfast was excellentthe ground flooryogurtreardistillerystopover
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

The Rowantree Hotel is a large and, frankly, quite ugly building on the main street, two doors from the post office. We planned to take an early ferry, and were looking for somewhere that was convenient for the harbor, with a car park, since some of the hotels closer to the ferries don't have them.

It was much better than its outside appearance. Friendly staff make a huge difference and both the receptionist and our waitress were great. They were both on duty in the evening and the following morning.

The second surprise was how good the food was. The menu has an American western theme and didn't look too appetizing to me. However, everything was cooked to order and was great.

The bedrooms were very comfortable. Scratched faux-leather headboards were unappealing, but they will presumably be replaced with the refurbishing that is currently happening. The TV had way more channels than I needed, and I got a good night's sleep. The only irritant was the poor wifi signal upstairs.

So my advice is: don't be put off by external appearances: of the building or the menu. It really is comfortable and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back. George Street at the front is busy and noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

After having decided we were not staying in the awful hotel provided by our coach tour operators . We came to this hotel it has a cosy atmosphrere staff were very pleasant and helpful,rooms were lovely ,clean and food great .we had a lovely meal and drinks with friends.We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends,family and bussiness contacts.
This is the kind of hotel and restaurant Argyll needs .
We even left money for staff to have a drink as they were so helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 201 faced the back car park but was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Isle of Skye. The room was small but ok. As we had no car we had no parking problems as reported. The sleep quality was ok as this was a backside room. The bathroom was good. The plus point of this hotel is its restaurant which seems quite popular. The food was good and the service was pleasant . It was a value for money paid.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shasidpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My daughter and I were traveling in Oban, and needed a hotel (since our original accommodations did not work out) and the staff welcomed us in such a warm and friendly manner! The bar was lovely, the complimentary breakfast was excellent and the room was basic, but clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel, situated right in the heart of Oban!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnieg863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel had parking which is in short supply in the town and is well-located in the town centre. The rooms were cleanish, but tired, the staff were mostly friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were very good. We paid £145 pp per night for a hotel that was of Travelodge standard.
There was WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KENNETH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews