We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Ice Cream shop - Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pokey Hat

The Pokey Hat
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Ice Cream shop - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

we really enjoyed this traditional Ice Cream shop. Driven to it by the name, we were not disappointed, excellent choice and friendly service

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    37
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Brilliant ice cream. Wish I had time to try more than the banana and caramel cheesecake which were lovely!

I will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Julie_Lindsay_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely little shop, great ice-cream which was very welcome. Across from the main shopping area, also across from seating at the harbour, perfect to sit and enjoy your pokey hat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FifeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THIS ICE CREAM YOU ARE THE PROBLEM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I eat ice cream (vanilla) all over the world this is the best I have tasted. Have spoken to the owner regarding ingredients and was not surprised to learn he only uses the best. Like I say if you have an issue with this ice cream you are either a competitor or know nothing about ice cream. Anyway I will happily donate the cost of an ice cream to charity if anyone is genuinely unhappy with their ice cream.
Happy to endorse.
I have an ice cream every day I am in Oban when the parlor is open. I am now working my way through them all. mmmmmmmmm! cu tomorrow.........

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Best ice cream in oban lots of different varieties to choose from, you have try blue banana simply amazing

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefood1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pokey Hat also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pokey Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing