We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pokey welcome :-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pokey Hat

The Pokey Hat
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A pokey welcome :-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Went in for some ice cream for my boyf. Politely asked if they had sorbet as I didn't fancy an ice cream and the reply from the two young lads serving was so rude that we decided not to buy anything.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Please get a life ! Why on earth would you presume the staff to be rude because we don't offer sorbet ? Another keyboard warrior , I suspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    40
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great value and lovely ice cream. We were astonished and tempted by the 6 scoop for 10 pounds "biggest cones in the world" but stayed strong and thinner as a result. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoraTheExplorer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Little ice-cream shop offering a good range of homemade ice-creams to take away. Some interesting flavours and lovely creamy texture. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in while visiting Oban. I had the banana ice cream. It was delicious! The service was quick and friendly. I will definitely come back when visiting again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Love Ice Cream, this place is a must, only problem is to much choice of flavour. We found ourselves visiting more than once, as unable to decide (My favourite is the Cherry)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pokey Hat also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pokey Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing