We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hawthorn Restaurant

The Hawthorn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy fresh, seasonal, local produce in a peaceful countryside setting. The Restaurant is located in the village of Benderloch, 9 miles north of Oban.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

One of the best meals I've had in one of the most unassuming locations. This restaurant lies in the middle of the countryside in a converted cottage. As we walked up the long drive (our holiday home was close by) we weren't sure what to expect. Sheep field on one side, and highland cows on the other. Once you step inside the decor of the restaurant is beautiful. Quite contemporary and nothing like what we expected. Wine prices were reasonable. 2 of our party had tian of langoustine tails, and 3 had goats cheese. All raved that it was the best they'd tasted in any big city restaurant. Some restaurants focus so much on the starters that the mains are a disappointment. Not here. All the main courses (from the main menu) were beautiful and cooked perfectly. The flavours all thought out well and worked together.
There was a cottage menu with burgers, chicken, salmon for those looking for a more homely meal, but equally as well cooked, except for the burgers which were a bit dry. But since I didn't have the burgers I have no complaints!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa B, Owner at The Hawthorn Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised! A countryside location should never be an excuse to operate a poor establishment and we are working hard to exceed expectations by serving high quality, fresh, seasonal food. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to the restaurant if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    37
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have now been to Hawthorn twice since the new hosts took over and have not been disappointed!
Very good menu, perfectly prepared and served - we could not ask for more and its right on our doorstep!
I am sure we will be back quite often!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hughie-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa B, Owner at The Hawthorn Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we are extremely pleased with the local support received and are working hard to maintain the Hawthorn's reputation. Looking forward to seeing you back at the restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well worth the walk to this wonderful find in the small village of Benderloch. I was there with my girlfriend, I had the hot smoked salmon with horseradish ice cream which was surprisingly delicious while my girlfriend had the crab, which was also delicious. For main, we had the salmon fillet and the chicken breast which were equally superb! The dessert, again, was flawless. The peanut butter cheesecake was so good I could have at 4 while the pannacotta was so smooth! The staff were all very friendly and I would recommend for all!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OptimusGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa B, Owner at The Hawthorn Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated. A lot of thought and care goes into the preparation and service of food and it is very rewarding hearing such positive feedback. Hope to welcome you back to the restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a week's holiday near Oban and ate great food in several restaurants - but the Hawthorn was special! We were a part of six, including three grandchildren, one with special needs - but we were made to feel so welcome that we went back for our last night's dinner too! The food was just the best, beautifully presented, tasted divine. The Hawthorn will be our first stop the next time we are in the Oban area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa B, Owner at The Hawthorn Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to look after your family, your grandchildren were truly charming. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and appreciate you choosing the Hawthorn for the final night of your holiday. Hope to welcome you back to the restaurant next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The hot smoked salmon starter is to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a wonderful restaurant, on entering you are warmly welcomed by the staff. The menu has a good selection to choose from and will tempt all. Food is superb and you must try the hot smoked salmon starter it truly is Devine! Would highly recommend a visit to this gem of a place and cannot wait to return when I next visit Benderloch, Oban.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelled12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasa B, Owner at The Hawthorn Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to welcome your family to the restaurant. The Hot-smoked salmon (smoked in house) is one of our most popular starters, served with a home-made Horseradish ice cream - a rather unusual combination, but dare to try it and you will be convinced! I am glad you enjoyed it, along with the rest of the food and the service. Look forward to seeing you next time you visit Benderloch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hawthorn Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Hawthorn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing