We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterfront seafood with a honeymoon suite!”

MacGillivray's Seafood
Ranked #40 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterfront seafood with a honeymoon suite!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This little waterfront seafood restaurant serves up the freshest prawns, lobster, and scallops we have had anywhere. We were lucky enough to meet the owner, Gordon, who set us up in the 'honeymoon suite', the one picnic table under an ivory canopy. It wasn't our honeymoon but hopefully we will be there again when it finally is! Not only does MacGillivary's have the best seafood in town, but its perfectly situated on the pier right next to the fishing boats themselves. Fantastic service, great food, in amazing Oban, Scotland. Don't miss it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph_n_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Bit unfair to give this the same result as The Seafood Temple, as the two don't compare. MacGillivray's is quite simply fun, and in a great position on the pier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oban's style fast food”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We decided to have a little snack as after a 3 hours bus trip we were quite hungry so we went to this little place. The smell of the food was very nice, and as it's right off the pier, we decided to give it a try. We wanted to try the scallops but the special was a "tails special"...tails of king prawn and langoustines, cooked in a buttery sauce with homemade coleslaw and 2 pieces of bread for £10. So that's what we ordered. and few minutes later, we had this massive portion of tails deliciously cooked and very tasty.... we were the 2 of us on it, and we were not hungry after that. It was very fresh, very tasty and cheap...what else to ask for. If onlly we had this kind of fast-food over there !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squarepusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fast food, Oban-style!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Over the years we have enjoyed leisurely dinners at the Seafood Temple, EE-usk, The Waterfront, the Oyster Inn, all very nice restaurants with a good choice of seafood. But this lunchtime we were looking for a quick snack before heading off to The Argyllshire Gathering, and so we went to Macgilivrays, a trailer on the pier. I had scallops, pan-fried in hot garlic butter, my wife the Oban Games 'Tails Special"; king prawn and sweet lobster tails. Both cooked in front of us, both served within five minutes, and both delicious. We sat at our outdoor table in the sunshine with our polystyrene containers and plastic forks, watching the bustle of the ferry passengers and the boats in the harbour, looking across the bay to the Isle of Kererra. This is fast food, Oban-style!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanoo_Harve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Greasy, greasy”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Did absolutely Not enjoy the Food. Greasy, chewy scallops, sides are a disgusting Cole slaw, some Mini iceberg lettuce pieces are supposed to be the Salad. Not nice, Not cheap

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mac_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacGillivray's Seafood also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to MacGillivray's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing