We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Oban
Reviewed 7 May 2014

on arrival the hotel was filthy room was filthy ifound a used condom in the room the cups were disgusting i asked for my money back and was given it 20 pounds short so i said to the bar maid and she then looked and said you are right when i got home i looked up my reservation and they had me down as a no show i wish i hadnt gone was realy sickend and the staf were not very plesant McCAIG'S RETURN I DONT THINK SO . if i was asked by anyone about it i would say stay well clear a very dissapointed and disgusted traveler mr and mrs cooper.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is a disgrace holes in walls bar staff rude more interested in turning tv up when you put juke box on. Pillows a disgrace food ok rooms dated. Hallway filthy frays in carpet. No parking unless you want to be charged by oban council. TV on wall only viewed if you sit right in front it. Please do not go here not worth one hundred pounds for two nights, absolutely a disgrace.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bobby052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

During a short break in Oban we came across McCaigs Bar and I saw in both windows the most beautiful stain glass art work and said lets go in and have a drink. We went in and hubby went to order a drink and I went to get us a seat. Well, a good section of the seating area was all ripped and they had tried to repair it with brown plastic packaging tape. Sat down and then we noticed the smell, to this day we can still not work out was it was. The barmaid was watching the Jeremy Kyle show with the volume up at its loudest while playing on her mobile phone at the same time. We could not stop laughing at what happened next, someone put money in the jukebox, the music came on and the barmaid turned the TV up even louder, so it meant that Jeremy Kyle was in competition with the jukebox. Honestly I have been in some neglected bars in my time but this beat them all. Worst of all I had ordered a bicardi and cola, (which was draft cola) and I can honestly say it tasted that bad that I could not drink it, and that is a first for me to leave a drink. I would definitely not return or recommend this bar.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank marshall_b14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Totally crap accomodation for weekend i spent, 3 hour drive to get there, was tired, got our room and the toilet light and fan came on like a machine gun. Second room discovered the tap leaked hot water and the shower had no hot water. Walls had cracks all over, pretty disgusting, breakfast was ok...only plus side to the munsters hotel...never again...sorry!!....YOU RANG!!

Room Tip: choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hung out here on two consecutive nights while visiting oban. Great band, cheap drinks, great craic. It can be pretty wild in there as the night goes on. Be sure to try one of their many blends or single malts they have.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BryanClinton524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I haven't been able to stay here as yet,but if you are in oban and fancy a pint in a friendly and sociable atmospher I will recommend this bar,the staff are friendly,and the clients are also up for a laugh and make you feel welcome,no frills nice prices excellent draught best,and lager.

Room Tip: I believe they do special deals something like £50 couple b n b.that's ok.it is worth looking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montgomery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
497 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar

Address: 1 Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Oban
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing