We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights in this lovely little lodge and we found it very comfortable, clean and friendly. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, with French windows opening on to a lovely mountain view. The owner goes out of her way to cater for everyone's needs and at breakfast there is a huge choice of delicious food. The setting is very quiet and peaceful although only a few minutes by car from Oban. I certainly recommend this little hidden treasure to anyone wishing a quiet getaway for a few days.

Mary Downie

Room Tip: There are only three rooms in this lodge, all of which are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you, it is nice to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We do try to meet their needs and make their stay memorable. We feel it is important to get breakfast right so are pleased to offer a variety which hopefully offers something for everyone. We hope you can stay again and thank you for taking the time to review Aspen Lodge, all reviews are really appreciated, this being our first full season every review counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
176
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed as two couples with friends and had two perfect, individually themed rooms. Boutique hotel decor at affordable B&B rates. Great attention to detail, lovely toiletries, hair dryer and straighteners, bottled water and a few yummy chocolates. Take a bottle of wine and make use of the bottle opener and wine glasses whilst enjoying the wonderful views from the decking. The hospitality/welcome was wonderful and breakfast set us up perfectly for the day. Very relaxing spot with free Wifi and Sky for those who need to stay in touch with reality! Audrey was especially friendly and kindly dropped us into Oban for our evening refreshments. Much appreciated as the location is a little remote and accessed via a single track lane with passing spaces. The driveway to the accommodation is steep but was no problem for our low profiled vehicles. Would definitely stay here again and would say you will be hard pressed to find better accommodation in Oban.

Room Tip: The blue and green rooms have the best views, and are at the back of the accommodation so probably q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for you lovely comments. We strive to provide as relaxing a stay as possible for our guest so we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and the breakfast too!! We hope you can stay again in the future, this is our first year so it will only get better! Thank you again for taking the time to review Aspen Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stornaway
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a lovely small lodge, set in superb scenery, with lovely walking.
The room was just beautiful, clean, spacious - real quality, down to little things like fresh milk for the tea/coffee. Breakfast was 5*.

We had no car so were delighted to be picked up from the train and in the morning dropped back down into Oban. The helpfulness and friendliness couldn't be bettered - definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Collecting guests from the train is something we consider important to give them a relaxing start to their stay. Helpfulness and friendliness is just what we hope to deliver to our guests so thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay and taking time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and we loved the beautifully designed and well presented rooms and dining room. Delicious breakfast - the pancakes with fruit and maple syrup are a must!
The access to free WiFi and Sky was a bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our peaceful getaway, even if we were only able to stay for a night. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay near Oban.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you, the pancakes with fruit and maple syrup are very popular. It is difficult to appreciate the tranquility over a one night stay so next time come and stay for longer!!! Thank you for your review, we are busy people and appreciate our guests giving up their valuable time to review Aspen Lodge. I do hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My heavily pregnant wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at Aspen Lodge and here is our review.

Arrival
On arriving at the lodge 5 hrs earlier than we had previously told Audrey (the owner), we were met by her son, who was very welcoming and helped us to our room, informing us he had contacted Audrey about our arrival. Within 2 minutes Audrey had arrived and was settling us in to our room.
Audrey had sourced both Flowers and Chocolates for my wife as a surprise on request. They were very beautiful and loved by my wife.

Accommodation
The room was fantastic, large comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and a breath-taking view. The room was very tastefully decorated with all commodities required to make your stay feel like a “home away from home”!!

Breakfast
You will have to go far and wide to source a more perfectly prepared breakfast to order!!

Overall
We had a fantastic relaxing time, in a very beautiful part of Oban. I would recommend this little Gem to all and will be returning with my family soon. Audrey really does make your get-Away experience special and bespoke to your individual requirements.

Thanks for all your effort.

Stuart & Natalie McCaskill

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
What a lovely review, thank you. We really appreciate all the reviews we get as it helps us build our new business which we hope will only get better and better. We meet some lovely people and are enjoying our new venture which is made all the better when guests are happy with their stay. I do hope all goes well with the birth of your baby, please let us know when you are proud parents. We were secretly hoping for our first Aspen Lodge baby - imagine!!! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

After a six hour journey to Oban we were ready for a rest and some TLC and that is just what we got ! A warm and friendly welcome and a truly sumptious room to chill out in ! Fab ! Audrey has fantastic taste, the attention to detail is second to none, lovely luxury toiletries , chocolates and a balcony with a lovely view too ! we were given advice on the best places to eat and even chauffer driven to our restaurant by Audrey , In short Audrey could not have been a better host ! we really enjoyed our stay and we will be booking for another stay ! Aspen lodge is the jewel in the crown of Oban Bed and Breakfast facillities

Room Tip: look on the Aspen lodge picture gallery to help to choose from the three beautifully appointed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay and really look forward to you returning to Aspen Lodge. Hopefully your next stay will be even better!! Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

had a fabulous stay at aspen lodge...from a friendly welcome from audrey and paul on arrival to the provision of a chiller for my wine to enjoy while soaking up the tranquility and the lift into oban town by audrey.. we had a wonderful stay and actually left oban town early that night to go back and make the most of the wonderful place and beautiful views...cant wait to go back....room was beautiful..shower was fab and breakfast well what can i say " delish " thanks audrey and paul for a wonderful stay. hope to see you both again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey_Aspen_Lodge, Owner at Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We are priveledged to live in this area and share this with our guests so I am pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and surroundings. We have had a few mornings recently where, in the nice weather, it has been difficult to get guests to leave on time, one guest said they would be more than happy just sitting on the balcony all day and not going anywhere!! Thank you for your kind comments but we truly believe that we should make our guests' stay as memorable as possible so if we can provide anything to add to their visit then that is part of the hospitality package that we hope all guest experience when they stay with us, bed and breakfast should not stop there, we enjoy having the opportunity to give a little more and our reward is when guests like yourselves appreciate that little bit more - thank you and I hope you visit us often in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
812 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,767 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
3.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glencruitten, Oban PA34 4QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in beautiful Glencruitten just 2.5 miles from Oban Town Centre Aspen Lodge is a modern self contained property with a separate guest entrance. All rooms are ensuite with walk-in showers, free wi-fi, free parking, i-pod docks and underfloor heating. Enjoy your breakfast in our modern dining area or on your room veranda with spectacular views to Ben Cruachan and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing