We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Location and Friendly Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location and Friendly Owner”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night. Our rooms had large French doors out to a decking area and beautiful scenery. The owner, Audrey, was welcoming and attended to our needs. She is knowledgeable on the local area and gave us a lift down to Oban harbour where we had our dinner at Eeusk. Our breakfast in the morning was delicious. I chose the pancakes with fresh berries and syrup. My boyfriend chose the fry-up.
The only issue was that the room was quite warm at night and I did not want to open the french doors for air. In winter this would make a very cosy room.
I would recommend this place to anyone and would stay again.

Room Tip: Stalker room had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
174
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Excellent b&q in a beautiful remote spot. Excellent furnishings especially the walk in shower. Warm welcome and great breakfast. Wifi provided as no network in the area. Extremely quiet spot thoroughly relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Well appointed clean comfortable accommodation with fantastic views and very quiet. Extremely comfortable bed and modern shower room. Nice breakfast area and a good breakfast selection with quality products. Rooms had tea/coffee making facilities and fresh milk was provided. You could also use the cafetiere and ground coffee or other tea selections available from the breakfast area. Audrey was a very friendly and helpful owner, nothing was too much trouble. Not all rooms have a TV, however we knew this before hand and we had access to the wifi, which was adequate for our needs. We will return to this Lodge in the future and would recommend staying here...

Room Tip: There are only three guest rooms and not all have a TV. So best to check if you really want a TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just 2 miles from Oban ,this is a great stay for some R&R.The lodge ,[3 guest bedrooms opening onto a communal dining area ] , is very comfortable and well decorated.We had a room opening onto the deck with amazing views. It all felt very new. The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent.
My only critisism was that the room got very hot and the only ventilation was to open the french doors which I didn't want to do overnight.
I would recommend staying here as it will provide agood base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Choose one with accesss to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

One night in the only backside room (ask for a frontside room who must have amazing view and have a wood terrace)

+Very friendly owner
+Good size of room
+Modern rooms area with beautiful integration of wood in architecture
+Nice new decoration in the room
+Big modern bathroom and shower
+Very quiet outside surroundings
+Very nice view on landscapes from the B&B
+Little rabbits seen in the garden
+Perfect for people who want to be outside the town but reaching it in 5-10 minutes by car

-Lack of soundproof from the breakfast room

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is the most fantastic place we have stayed. It is in a beautiful location. The guest house is the best we have ever stayed in. We loved it and can't wait to return. Audrey and Paul were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too difficult. We stayed in a 4 star hotel for the last part of our trip and it had nothing on Aspen.

Room Tip: Nothing to add, it's all brilliant:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

When choosing this place we were not totally sure what to expect but based on the previous reviews we decided to go for it.
We did not regret. The rooms, service, location all could not be faulted.
The breakfast was one of the best also. ( Even i have now returned to Shanghai i still miss the Pancakes and fruit that was served each morning)
It is close enough to Oban to be convenient but secluded enough to reward you with amazing views from your room.

When i return home to Scotland i will certainly be paying the place a visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 93 in Oban
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glencruitten, Oban PA34 4QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in beautiful Glencruitten just 2.5 miles from Oban Town Centre Aspen Lodge is a modern self contained property with a separate guest entrance. All rooms are ensuite with walk-in showers, free wi-fi, free parking, i-pod docks and underfloor heating. Enjoy your breakfast in our modern dining area or on your room veranda with spectacular views to Ben Cruachan and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing