We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here on 3rd January for one night. We paided for a standard room at time of booking and upon being showen to our room we were given a superiour room. It was a quiet time and it was very nice to be upgraded for free and the Hotel not mentioning it or looking for credit so top marks.

The room is excellent, both bed and bathroom are of a good standard as was the breakfast. The Hotel would not be out of place in any major city as it is clean and modern. If we are going to Oban again we will be looking to stay here again as the staff matched the class of the Hotel.

We paid £65 (low season prices) and I really cannot give it anything other than a mark of 5. It is a new Hotel and I hope it will be a success.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pay74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review for us. I have passed your comments to the staff and told them to keep up the good work. My team are all passionate about ensuring a fantastic stay with us and I'm pleased that you feel we delivered. We all hope that you will stay with us again should you find yourself in Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my partner in a standard room and it was fantastic. The size of the room with en suite is ideal for a couple. Good shower and comfy bed is perfect for any traveller. Mind you this is a metro hotel so don't expect 5 star amenities, but you'd get 5 star treatment. Friendly staff and very helpful. The breakfast is fantastic however I'd prefer some cold cuts with the continental on offer. That's my preference but I still enjoyed the breakfast without it. Good value for money and central location makes it an ideal hotel if travelling to the islands since its in close proximity to the ferry terminal. Will definitely return and please try the kir royale, the home made cassis is gorgeous. Good get away from our daily life in Edinburgh, will definitely spread the word

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Ranald. I'm delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The room was modern and spacious - very clean too! Breakfast was a great selection and the service was wonderful. They were giving us tips of where to go too which really helped given that we weren't from the area! They let us have a late check out too as our coach wasn't until much later! We tried both restaurants recommended by the hotel and were more than impressed! The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant and Cuan Mor were both really great! Service and food were top notch! Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you Philip for taking the time to leave a review of The Ranald. I'm glad that you felt that not only the staff at the hotel looked after you, but the staff at our restaurants did too. It's always great to hear back from our guests and all comments are passed back to my staff and the managers of the restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Very good. Clean and modern with good shower. Even let us have a late check-out when we slept in. Service excellent. Will be back again. Very central good with good location but still not noisy. Would recommend to anyone visiting Oban.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 516wee_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald, it's most appreciated! I'm delighted that you found the service excellent and I will relay this back to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

There are 3 basic things a hotel needs to get right:
1. Clean and comfortable bed
2. tasty Breakfast
3. powerful (hot shower)

This hotel ticked these 3 boxes and more.
We are staying here (at time of writing) using a groupon deal, for 2 nights which includes dinner in 2 different restaurants which happen to be 2 of of our favorites. The dinner deal itself is of great value therefore making it a fantastic deal all round.
The room in the hotel is superb, the staff are very friendly and efficient (booking our tables in the restaurants for both nights)
another bonus (or hindrance) is the fantastic smells from the Indian restaurant 2 doors down!!!!
We come to Oban several time a year (actually got married here last year) and usually go for a hotel / guest house with a sea view, this does not have the view but it is so centrally located, you could not ask for more. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Go for a splendid room, very large (314 is to the back of the hotel and seems to be quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review! I'm glad to hear that the staff looked after you well, not only at the hotel but at the restaurants as well. Our aim when opening The Ranald was to tick the boxes that you mentioned as well as offering a sincere welcome during every stay. All of us at The Ranald look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed for one night with my partner and found the service excellent. Quick check in and shown to our room personally. Went for the grand room and I'm very glad i did as it was spacious and beautifully decorated. Although the included breakfast wasn't the traditional cooked affair it was very enjoyable (i had the pancakes). Will definitely be staying again soon :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Ranald. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast, we know it's not what everyone is expecting! We try to go that little bit further at The Ranald and always like to personally show the guests to their rooms, it's something that seems to be missing elsewhere these days. I've passed on your kind comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great staff and surprising variety at breakfast, despite having no proper kitchen. The rooms are really comfy and very clean but don't pay to upgrade from a standard. We did, for £25 per night extra; plus points - two tiny chocolates and two small bottles of water on the first day (not replenished) and a small sofa at the end of the room (from where you can't see the tv). Minus points- upgraded rooms are no bigger than standard but the bathroom is reduced to half size to make room for the sofa and deluxe rooms are at the back of the hotel looking onto a cliff rather than over the street like standard rooms. Overall a really nice hotel but standard rooms are better than the more expensive upgraded ones.

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade rooms. Standard rooms have a bigger bathroom and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Ranald. Tripadvisor is a great way of letting future guests get an understanding of the hotel by people who have actually stayed and experienced our establishment. The chocolates are handmade especially for us by a local company and although we don't routinely replenish those particular items they are available on request. I will, however look in to perhaps changing this. Being on a side street we don't have the sea views at The Ranald and we can't hide the cliff at the back, but it does ensure that they are our quietest rooms The rooms are bigger than our standard and have superkingsize beds rather than kingsize. I'm happy that your overall impression was good and we hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,033 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £64 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranald Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing