We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, so good. Ten out of ten for The Ranald.”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It's not often you leave a place and feel like you should have paid more but we felt that we got amazing value for money at The Ranald and cannot recommend the place enough.
Parking is 'on street' but it was no problem to ind a space right outside. The hotel has 17 rooms. It is really tastefully decorated - using tartan in a contemporary way, lovely lighting and some nice prints.
The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful from Evalina who checked us in, to the lovely South African guy who served us breakfast.
The bedroom was spacious and clean with, again, attractive contemporary decor. The bed was really comfy and the shower was excellent with good quality shower gel provided.
The bar and breakfast area is lovely. At night it's beautifully lit and a nice place to have a pre-dinner drink. We'd wandered to The Lorne pub just up the street but returned to he Ranald bar for a drink as it was far nicer!
The breakfast features a lovely selection of fruits, yoghurt s and The Ranald's signature dish - baked eggs; your choice of two eggs on top of ,haggis, smoked salmon etc then baked with some cheddar cheese grated over it.
Don't know how they can do all that for 70 pounds!

Room Tip: You might hear a few late night reveller if you have a room facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

What a fantastic review, thank you so much! I'm delighted that you both had a great time whilst staying with us. Ewelina and Alex, as well as my other staff, are such an asset to the business and it's great for them to see that their hard work has such positive results. I hope that we'll see you back at The Ranald again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel well placed for restaurants.
Delicious breakfast and very friendly, well informed and capable staff.
Hotel has a very contemporary feel to it.
Restaurants recommended by hotel the cuan mor and the waterfront also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stebro453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Ranald with the rest of the trip advisor community. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with not only ourselves, but our sister restaurants too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend in Oban. The Ranald was fabulous! It is ideally located for all the main attractions of Oban. The room was fabulous - top marks for a massive bed and a fantastic shower. The bar/breakfast area was relaxed and service really good too. We arrived to a warm welcome and the staff were great throughout our stay. Top marks and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SK2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

I was delighted to read your review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave one. We try hard at The Ranald to ensure a fantastic customer experience and it's great for the staff to get this feedback. I hope that we'll see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt that The Ranald is by far the nicest hotel in Oban we have stayed in (and we have stayed in all of the big ones). The room was very comfortable, tastefully decorated with lovely bed linen and soft furnishings. There were a couple of things that let the room down a little; only two tea bags, no nice toiletries on offer, etc. Also the TV only had the BBC channels working. This didn't bother us but may annoy some. The complimentary wifi worked well which made up for it.

Service from staff both at check-in and at breakfast was polite and friendly. Breakfast is served in the small bar area, however there is plenty on offer from fresh fruits, croissants, compotes and cereals. There is also a selection of cooked options although we didn't try any.

Overall we had a lovely one night stay and we'll be back. However, it is a relatively new hotel and there are a couple of areas that could be improved to make the hotel perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Ranald with the rest of the tripadvisor community. As we are very conscious of wastage at The Ranald we provide a basic complimentary tea & coffee facility in the rooms. We will always provide more when asked as stated in the room books. Again, to cut down on wastage and storage issues we have followed many major hotels and provided hand soap and shower gel in dispensers for our guests to use during their stay. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I'd encourage you to try some of the made to order menu items should you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

i cannot recommend this hotel enough, it is small (17rooms) but the personal service (esp from Hayley the Assistant Mgr) is worth mentioning as it doesn't happen in many places. The decor is very tasteful and rooms have all you need for an overnight stay. Everything feels new and contemporary but very comfortable - esp the pillows and duvet cover. The parking (or lack of) will be a problem for some however we worked around it. The breakfast was lovely and relaxed environment suited us to a tee. Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel fro anyone who wants to avoid the other chinzy b&b's Oban has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

I was delighted to read your review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave one. Hayley is a star and I'd be lost without her! I'm glad that yo enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you'll consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A modern four-story hotel in a good location. People should be aware there is no lift if they are on an upper floor and have a disability. Help is available to carry one's luggage.The rooms are small and in particular the bathroom had no shelf for the usual implements. Odd because everything in the bathrooms is of first rate quality, but yet this makes it inconvenient to use. The rooms themselves are very comfortable albeit small.
The breakfast is outstanding in terms of variety, service and quality.
One note about safety is that the front door is locked at night with a key required to go in and out. Most codes require an interior door panic bar for quick exit in case of an emergency and I think the management should consider this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. I'd like to reassure guests that as a brand new building we comply fully to all current building and fire codes. The door releases automatically in the event of fire and does not require a push bar. There is a push button to release the door at other times. Keys are only required for entry.

Your room did have a storage unit under the sink which would have held all your toiletries, but as stated in a previous reply I am currently sourcing a suitable shelf for our ensuites.

I'm glad that on the whole your stay with us was enjoyable and I'd like to think that you would choose us again if you were ever back in Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air this hotel is! Fantastic friendly service, even showed us to the room and unlike the previous review say the staff where in fact very chatty! Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well decorated. Oban badly needed a hotel like this!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merchantscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. That is exactly what we aim for and we try to ensure that every guest has this same experience. I hope that we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £84 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing