We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love The Ranald”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love love love The Ranald”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at The Ranald in Oban. Wonderful hotel. Brilliant service. Great flat location close to the harbour and short walk to the distillery. Only negatives are nil lift and small rooms.

This said the staff carried our suitcases to our 1st floor room when we checked in. Room was clean and new. Beautiful modern decor. Bathroom had sink and shower (no bath) and heat rack for towels. Towels were the thickest and most luxurious I have seen for a long while in a hotel. Room safe is tiny. Would not fit a full size tablet/iPad. Limited number of power points. TV was good size and well located. Our room had a view over Stevenson street which was nice and the window opened. Was noisy only 1 night for a short time. Twin beds were very comfortable but are just standard singles so are a wee small.

Breakfast was fabulous. Staff prepare breakfast in a room the size of a broom cupboard and do a great job. Food was fresh and tasty. Staff were so helpful and polite. We really enjoyed our stay.

Parking in the street out front is tight. Small parking spots. However staff directed us to a free public car park a short walk away which we used for the bulk of our stay.

Can't wait to come back to Oban to stay at The Ranald and eat the local seafood (especially the langoustine) and drink the local whiskey. Lots to explore in town and nearby.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DragonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you fell in love with The Ranald. We love it too! We only employ staff who have a passion for customer service and aim to give every guest that stays here a fantastic experience. We hope that we will indeed see you again the next time that you come over to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    244
    91
    26
    10
See reviews for
91
505
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked to stay at the Ranald Hotel for a couple of days during my October break. Unfortunately, they messed up our booking and booked us in for the wrong dates. They did offer to rebook for another time and, because i was unable to go another time, gave me my money back. It is a concern that they booked the wrong dates, even though I was very specific. What I find most annoying is that I only found out the booking was cancelled because I checked my junk mail the day we were due to leave. The person who took the booking did not take a contact number. Had I travelled up to Oban, I would have found out on my arrival and had nowhere to stay. I have heard good things about this hotel so the mistake in the booking and then lack of communication was very disappointing.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We welcome constructive feedback at The Ranald should guests feel that there is something that we need to work on. Staff have been reminded how important it is to record a contact number so that we can contact guests should there ever be a problem. We would urge everyone to double check their confirmation email as even the best if us can mis-hear something on the telephone. There would have been a room for you that night had you arrived (it was the 2nd night that we had an issue with) and we gave you many options to try to work around your other commitments, none of which you were willing to accept. We're very sorry that on this occasion we weren't able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is two blocks from the harbor. Brand new and immaculate. Great design and a wonderful value. Friendly staff! Stay here! The only downside is no lift, but the desk clerk took our bags up four flights without a problem. Parking on the street is very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photogirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Ranald. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Came to the Ranald Hotel on a 5pm deal. This included a 2 course meal on 2 nights at two different restaurants. We could not fault it. The room was really nice, with nice extras such as chocolates and shortbread. Lovely soft towels and a great shower. The small lounge bar where we had breakfast was very nice. Breakfast was great with lots of choices. Loved the fresh fruit salad. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was a cliff face but was a minor detail. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and fantastic value!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your Ranald experience. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We often have deals in conjunction with our sister restaurants and anyone signing up to our mailing list gets informed of upcoming offers. We may not offer the fantastic sea views that many of the other local hotels have, but as you've experienced we try to make up for that with our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Ranald Hotel and we will definately be back!
We were met by a friendly member of staff although we didn't get his name. The room we had booked was a 'compact' room so I was expecting a tiny room but it was ample with plenty space to move around and open a suitcase. Ideal for our one night stay.
High quality with blinds and curtains on the windows! Lovely quiet room as well.
Breakfast was great - baked eggs with hagggis, yummy!
The only downside was a couple of young children who were running around without any parental supervision, a little dangerous with ramakins just out of the oven being served to guests. However the hotel was in a great central location so will certainly return!

Room Tip: If staying for one night a compact room is more than suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower062013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review of The Ranald. We're all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry for any inconvenience caused that morning at breakfast time, but pleased that it didn't spoil your enjoyment of the haggis baked eggs. (my personal favourite!) We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great weekend break, very modern hotel with lovely little touches, the baked eggs are a must so is a visit to the waterfront fish restaurant where we had dinner. The only downside to the hotel was the breakfast area where small kids were roaming around while hot tea and coffee was being served although that wasn't the hotels fault, it was the irresponsible parents.

Room Tip: luxury room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUMTO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us. Sorry for any inconvenience caused at breakfast. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed The Waterfront Fishouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Once again Harry and his staff have excelled. Great friendly hotel with wonderful staff. A warm friendly welcome always awaits. Immaculate and clean throughout and very comfortable beds. The only hotel to stay at in Oban. Will def be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We were delighted to welcome you both back to The Ranald. We hope that it won't be too long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing