We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Oban hotel”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My favourite Oban hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have to stay in Oban every once in a while, and I would always choose the Ranald. It is a modern building with very well designed rooms that are clean and functional. It is by far the best hotel in Oban and is great value for money. The manager, Harry, is very welcoming and is clearly doing a great job.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllmscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us at The Ranald. High praise indeed. Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    237
    88
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
497
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel is perfectly located (2 minutes) from the harbour with its shops, pubs and restaurants. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and is spotlessly clean. The rooms are spacious although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. Breakfast offered a large selection of quality food (especially the eggs).
Possible downsides (although it didn't affect us) were the lack of car park (although there was metered parking outside), no lift to the 3 floors, small breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpennyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. We're pleased that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! We come to oban often and booked this hotel on a groupon deal we weren't familiar with it but when we arrived we remember passing it and thinking we must look it up as the bar inside looked lovely. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the guy on reception carried our bags up to the 3rd floor!! Our room was lovely, very spacious and modern as was the bathroom with luxurious towels too. Breakfast was fab the baked eggs were amazing. The wee bar was great too and prices were very good. I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and will be a regular here anytime we visit oban in future. Ranald Hotel you have just found yourselves new regular customers :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank weecooperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We're delighted that you decided to give The Ranald a try, even more so that you enjoyed your time with us so much. We're pleased to hear that you'll be back and we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was a lovely surprise. We stayed in what we thought would be a small double... It turned out to be perfect for our nights stay and was plenty big enough! The fixtures and fittings are modern and top notch. The room was very clean. Staff are very pleasant and welcoming and the breakfast first class !
Perfect !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Michele, we're all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Ranald. Thank you for taking the time to share with the rest of the trip advisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

went here for I night with my husband and ended up staying 2,spotless friendly comfortable and very relaxing,great food at the waterfront restaurant and great breakfast in the hotel,close to every need,alex the manager was really nice and the girl I think her name was adele was very efficient,even the cleaning staff couldn't have been any nicer,will definitely be back ,thanks for a great stay,and good luck to alex and his partner when the baby arrives

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Patricia thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Ranald is a clean, comfortable and well located hotel – just minutes away from the town center and the Oban Distillery. Our top floor room was spacious and quiet and the breakfast we enjoyed after our one night stay was first rate. Although there is no parking on the property we easily found street parking within a few yards of the hotel. A minor inconvenience is that there is no lift and our room was on the 3rd floor. However, the staff was quite helpful is assisting us with our luggage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Ranald experience after your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very comfortable night in a hotel I had been curious about for some time and I wasn\'t disappointed. Circumstances dictated I needed a room at short notice and I was even more pleased that I could take advantage of an offer for local islanders. Great contemporary decor. The room was huge, bed very comfy and the extra touches were welcome such as the water, chocolates, drink making facilities and toiletries for use. The TV reception was a little variable but the weather was grim so perhaps to be expected. Pretty fast free wi fi was also a bonus enabling me to get some work done and all rounded off with a tasty & filling breakfast served in the teeny lounge bar, small but perfectly formed. The staff were attentive and helpful and I would definitely choose to stay again if travelling alone. It would be even better if they might set aside perhaps a room or two for those with a dog. As a frequent traveller with mine, it's sometimes difficult to find quality accommodation. A small supplement would cover any cleaning costs although depending on the dog, not even really necessary. Well behaved dogs travel just as well as children and in some cases better !

Room Tip: I had a Grand Plus room at the rear of the hotel on the first floor - very quiet and unoverlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review Moira. We're pleased to hear that you finally got to try The Ranald and that you were impressed with the hotel and its staff. We'll take your suggestions on board and should we decide to change our stance we'll let you know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing