We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good experience”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Modern hotel, spacious / clean rooms, very well located. Friendly staff. Good breakfast, relaxing environment music in the bar/ breakfast room and prices for drinks really affordable. Really pleased we did choose it for our stay in Oban!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you Sara for taking the time to leave a review of The Ranald. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Situated just 5 minutes walk from the bus terminus and ferry terminal this is ideal if visiting Oban without a car (especially as the hotel has no parking available) The small bar area (which doubles as the breakfast room) is cosy and ideal for a few drinks before or after a night out. Check the hotel's web site for details of the breakfast. No fry ups here but we enjoyed it and, yes, the baked egg is worth a try. If you don't want to venture far there is a good Indian restaurant to the left on the same street and, to the right, a very good pub with live music some nights. Our room was modern, clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We picked the middle grade room which was a decent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ranald experience with the rest of the tripadvisor community. I think you covered just about everything. Thanks for staying and we hope that we'll see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Used the winter special offer which included dinner in a local restaurant.
Top quality hotel stay and the sea food meal was the best in oban.
Hotel is compact but rooms are surprisingly spacious with excellent decor and facilities.
Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. I stat
I stay in oban a lot and would certainly rate this higher than anywhere else I have stated.
The link with the sea front restaurant works very well - hotel reception makes the booking and the restaurant are, sgain, very welcoming (unlike many others where people on a deal are often treated as second class citizens
Free wifi is also a welcome offering

Room Tip: Just to clarify there is obviously no pool but questionnaire seems to require a response
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at The Ranald, Derek. We like to offer great value and customer service and we're all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that after the taster of the hotel you've had from staying on one of our deals that we'll see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have to stay in Oban every once in a while, and I would always choose the Ranald. It is a modern building with very well designed rooms that are clean and functional. It is by far the best hotel in Oban and is great value for money. The manager, Harry, is very welcoming and is clearly doing a great job.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mllmscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us at The Ranald. High praise indeed. Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel is perfectly located (2 minutes) from the harbour with its shops, pubs and restaurants. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and is spotlessly clean. The rooms are spacious although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. Breakfast offered a large selection of quality food (especially the eggs).
Possible downsides (although it didn't affect us) were the lack of car park (although there was metered parking outside), no lift to the 3 floors, small breakfast area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpennyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. We're pleased that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! We come to oban often and booked this hotel on a groupon deal we weren't familiar with it but when we arrived we remember passing it and thinking we must look it up as the bar inside looked lovely. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the guy on reception carried our bags up to the 3rd floor!! Our room was lovely, very spacious and modern as was the bathroom with luxurious towels too. Breakfast was fab the baked eggs were amazing. The wee bar was great too and prices were very good. I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and will be a regular here anytime we visit oban in future. Ranald Hotel you have just found yourselves new regular customers :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank weecooperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We're delighted that you decided to give The Ranald a try, even more so that you enjoyed your time with us so much. We're pleased to hear that you'll be back and we look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was a lovely surprise. We stayed in what we thought would be a small double... It turned out to be perfect for our nights stay and was plenty big enough! The fixtures and fittings are modern and top notch. The room was very clean. Staff are very pleasant and welcoming and the breakfast first class !
Perfect !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Michele, we're all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Ranald. Thank you for taking the time to share with the rest of the trip advisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,005 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £64 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing