We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two night stay”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“two night stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a small hotel but it was ab fab. Breakfast was lovely although they say cooked food is limited. It was perfect for us fresh fruit amazing and room amazing ,shower so powerful and amazing. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Ranald experience on TripAdvisor. We are all happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    237
    88
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
497
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Partner and myself stayed for 3 nights over the New Year. First time stay. It is a new hotel which shows in the fresh decor and fabric. the rooms are airy and the showers excellent. It is not a big hotel and there was no lift to the third floor. We were on 3rd floor at the front. I enjoyed the exercise. There is internet access and WiFi. There is a nice atmosphere to the place. Breakfast was not the usual fry. It was more continental but adequate. The staff were polite and helpful. Parking was a bit of a problem but we found free parking only 5 minutes away. The hotel is located close to everything. Train. Buses. Ferry and shops. My only issue was the noise at the front. I'm a light sleeper anyway but the street had a lot of traffic on it most of our stay. We both liked it and will return at some point.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage go for room on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the noise was a slight issue. Due to being a town centre hotel, there can be a bit of noise from traffic throughout the night. I'm glad you will return to The Ranald and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll & Bute
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My boyfriend & I booked our 2 night stay through a Groupon deal & were not dissapointed one bit. We were on the top floor & got shown personally to our room (I even got my bag carried which I thought was a nice old fashioned touch)
The room was clean & spacious with the BIGGEST bed I've slept in! We even had a sofa area with table & complimentary spring water & chocolates which were re stocked the next day when our room was cleaned.
The only down side was the bathroom. It was quite small in comparison to the rest of the room & only had a shower with not alot of room or places to put your toiletries. Also the shower door seemed to leak a bit leaving a bit of a puddle outside :/

Being a small metro hotel a full cooked breakfast wasnt available but they had a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast & the loveliest crossioants I've tasted. There was also a quirky menu which consisted of pancakes & syrup, porridge, filled bagles & baked eggs.

The staff were very friendly & helpfull and I will certainally book again the next time I'm up in Oban.

Room Tip: A handy hint is remember to lock your hotel room door when leaving & whilst in. Most places I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiestagirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review of The Ranald with the rest of TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. I will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findhorn, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We regularly have to stay in Oban when going to and fro from Mull and our island of Erraid, so finding the Ranald who does great rates for Islanders during the winter is a real treat, it makes the trip very enjoyable. We done several repeat visits so far this winter. Lovely fluffy pillow, clean rooms, crisp sheets, wifi connection and a great breakfast - we really think it's great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Ranald Hotel and that you are taking advantage of our Islander rate. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was my second stay at The Ranald and by far the best hotel experience I've had in the UK both times. The staff are amazing and can't do enough to help you. Both ladies in the morning and afternoon were friendly, professional and an asset to the hotel. I hope They'll consider giving them both pay rises, because I'm sure they aren't paying them what they're worth. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed having a drink in the wee lounge. Rooms were spotless and comfy. A lot of noise from the street out our window, but the staff kindly provided ear plugs. Great stay and we'll be back next time we're in Oban.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeithTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of The Ranald. I will pass on your great comments to all of the staff and will let them know that their hard work is being recognised by our guests. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your second stay just as much as your first and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I've stayed here twice now in different types of room. It's a gorgeous hotel with the biggest, fluffiest towels and a decent, powerful shower in the bathrooms. It doesn't do the traditional full English or Scottish breakfast but has plenty of options at the buffet and on the menu. I'm booked for a third visit in a couple of weeks. They also do a repeat business discount.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Ranald. We are delighted that you love our hotel and are taking advantage of our repeat guest discount by returning a third time. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald in the next couple of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in business and would recommend to others - nice rooms good wifi service excellent - breakfast a good choice despite no full cooked on offer - will be back in the future. Good central location with on street parking

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keithinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I'm pleased you liked many aspects of The Ranald Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing