We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Inverkip, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Fantastic hotel, Newly built and very modern. Rooms were lovely. But it was the little extras that made it special. Sparking and still water was put in the room every day along with chocolates and nice bathroom accessories. Fruit and sweeties in reception. Breakfast was delicious, not your usual cooked breakfast, it also had a special touch to it. Free WIFI, lovely friendly staff. Parking right outside the door, and since it never stops raining in Oban, there were umbrellas available near the door for anyone who forgot theirs. There didn't seem to be a lift, so if you can't manage the stairs let them know when booking. Very quiet at bed time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and all the little extra touches made it that little bit better. I hope you will return and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    234
    84
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
487
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wonderful hotel and very comfortable beds the rooms were perfectly clean and very up to date the staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would definetly recommend this hotel to family and friends and book again hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a very relaxing and comfortable first time stay at the Ranald and will certainly use again!
Our room was relaxing and immaculate and indeed the whole hotel.
The staff were very attentive and provided excellent customer service particularly serving breakfast .
I can say that dinner provided in the Fishouse restaurant (one of two superb options) was one or the finest meals I've had.
We have no hesitation recommending the Hotel Ranald to others and looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: There are two excellent restaurants to have dinner ....we tried the Fishouse at the Waterfront whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback on TripAdvisor. All of the staff work very hard in providing excellent customer care so I will make sure your comments are passed on to them all. I'm delighted to hear that our sister restaurant, The Waterfront Fishouse delivered an excellent dining experience and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

what can i say about the ranald hotel thats not already been said
in the reviews on trip advisor the staff, the rooms,the amazing breakfast,
where the hotel is situated,you could not get better. the two restrurants
[the waterfront and cuan mor] connected to the hotel are just five mins away
both are top class. i had only one issue that was the bar prices in the hotel which
were expensive other than that we had a great time there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Firstly, I would like to thank you for leaving such a lovely review of The Ranald Hotel. I'm delighted to hear such positive comments of your stay and you also enjoyed dining at our 2 sister restaurants during your time with us. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay and dine with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a small hotel but it was ab fab. Breakfast was lovely although they say cooked food is limited. It was perfect for us fresh fruit amazing and room amazing ,shower so powerful and amazing. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Ranald experience on TripAdvisor. We are all happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Partner and myself stayed for 3 nights over the New Year. First time stay. It is a new hotel which shows in the fresh decor and fabric. the rooms are airy and the showers excellent. It is not a big hotel and there was no lift to the third floor. We were on 3rd floor at the front. I enjoyed the exercise. There is internet access and WiFi. There is a nice atmosphere to the place. Breakfast was not the usual fry. It was more continental but adequate. The staff were polite and helpful. Parking was a bit of a problem but we found free parking only 5 minutes away. The hotel is located close to everything. Train. Buses. Ferry and shops. My only issue was the noise at the front. I'm a light sleeper anyway but the street had a lot of traffic on it most of our stay. We both liked it and will return at some point.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage go for room on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the noise was a slight issue. Due to being a town centre hotel, there can be a bit of noise from traffic throughout the night. I'm glad you will return to The Ranald and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll & Bute
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My boyfriend & I booked our 2 night stay through a Groupon deal & were not dissapointed one bit. We were on the top floor & got shown personally to our room (I even got my bag carried which I thought was a nice old fashioned touch)
The room was clean & spacious with the BIGGEST bed I've slept in! We even had a sofa area with table & complimentary spring water & chocolates which were re stocked the next day when our room was cleaned.
The only down side was the bathroom. It was quite small in comparison to the rest of the room & only had a shower with not alot of room or places to put your toiletries. Also the shower door seemed to leak a bit leaving a bit of a puddle outside :/

Being a small metro hotel a full cooked breakfast wasnt available but they had a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast & the loveliest crossioants I've tasted. There was also a quirky menu which consisted of pancakes & syrup, porridge, filled bagles & baked eggs.

The staff were very friendly & helpfull and I will certainally book again the next time I'm up in Oban.

Room Tip: A handy hint is remember to lock your hotel room door when leaving & whilst in. Most places I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiestagirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review of The Ranald with the rest of TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. I will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing