We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel well presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel well presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a small room and it was perfect for one person staying overnight but would recommend a larger room if staying for longer. That said the room was nicely decorated with a great shower and the whole place had a nice modern feel whilst still having character. Will certainly be staying again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    234
    84
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
487
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

2 major details. Rooms are small and there is no lift.

Besides that is a very nice hotel, with very helpful staff, a great value for money and a nice breakfast.

Sleep quality is very high, people always there to help!

Nice rooms even for small rooms.
Great breakfast offer with the necessary stuff and a great price!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found us great value for money! We certainly hope you can return in the future to experience another great stay at The Ranald Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in central location - v comfortable rooms well finished great wifi connection
Staff friendly and helpful with a great selection at breakfast - thanks to the lady who went off menu for me and made scrambled eggs - appreciated thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you very much for yet again another wonderful review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay just as much as your first and we are looking forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a great two-night stay at The Ranald. Room was comfy, breakfast was affa fine too. Lewis, being the only staff member we particularly saw, was extremely friendly and helpful. The only fault was two single mattresses pushed together on top of a double bed, so didn't quite fit right. But all in all a brilliant stay. Looking forward to coming back once the weather's a bit better! Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Lewis is a great asset to our team and works very hard to provide excellent customer service so I will let him know his great work is being recognised. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay once the weather gets better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night early march. Let me start off by saying there's nothing explicitly wrong with this hotel. It's clean, tidy, comfortable and the staff is friendly. But nothing really stands out, either. The rooms are really small, but on the other hand they're comfortable. The location is central, but then again that's not hard in a small town. The breakfast is adequate, but really, I've had many better. So in short; we had a good night here, and I have nothing to complain, but at the same time the experience is easily forgettable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D3US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that we weren't for you and you will easily forget your experience here but we do however appreciate all feedback given to us and we take on board all comments made by our guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and service... Rooms are gorgeous and staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem... In the central area of Oban so everything at hand! Would def recommend this hotel... Gutted we missed breakfast as supposed to be amazing! Will def come back :)'

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiBBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for two nights in April in a double room, this hotel while small is in immaculate condition and is modern and stylish. The room was lovely and warm, large enough and well furnished with a huge and very comfortable bed. The shower and bathroom were again modern and very stylish. The whole hotel was in immaculate condition well maintained and spotless throughout. Breakfast was excellent all the fare on offer was lovely especially the baked eggs, well worth trying. The staff were all friendly and very helpful, a credit to the hotel. The Ranald is set in a quiet street just two minutes walk from the town centre. Limited parking is available on street and there is a car park within several minutes walk in either direction.Overall a very enjoyable experience a would have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: The hotel has three floors but does not have a lift, if stairs are a problem request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Polson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us a wonderful 5* review on TripAdvisor! We love to get such positive comments from our guests and I will make sure they are passed on to all the staff. Thank you once again and I'm very delighted to hear that you will recommend our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing