We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$180
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
453
271
105
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
271
105
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a hidden gem in Oban and we cannot praise it enough. Staff are first class and nothing is a bother.Breakfasts have a nice twist and all tastes seem to be covered. We wish everyone at the Ranald all the best. This was not our first visit and it will not be the last

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marrus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed our quirky breakfast! I can't thank you enough for your great comments and I will make sure they are passed on to all the staff. We look forward to your next trip to Oban to experience another great stay at The Ranald Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, lovely boutique hotel!! Very clean & modern through out, staff were all friendly. Parked nearby no issue at all nearly no hotels have parking in Oban. Breakfast was nice & a little bit different will defiantly be staying here again!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again if you happen to return to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Lewis who was chatty and showed a genuine interest in the customers. Price was good and location was central. We will return the next time we want a trip to Oban.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for leaving such a kind review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the next few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a lovely break at the Ranald. The room was modern and well equipped and we were just a short walk to the front. Parking is a bit limited but that was not a huge problem. The staff were very friendly and we will definitely be back to this hotel. I would strongly recommend the a Ranald.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review on TripAdvisor! We love to get such positive comments from our guests and I will make sure they are passed on to all the staff. Thank you once again and I'm very delighted to hear that you will recommend our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked late on our IPhone. Everything was fine at reception, We had a warm welcome and were shown to our fully equipped room which was very comfortable. There was only a shower in the spotless bathroom.

There was no view because we were at the back of the hotel, but that did not bother us. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the lounge. They only have a small pantry but everything they turned out was first class.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We will stay at the Ranald when we are next in Oban.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay at The Ranald Hotel and liked all our modern amenities that are included in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews