We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good to see a decent hotel in Oban at long last. Stayed one night while on business. Very clean, bed very comfortable and fantastic shower room. Great to have free wifi. Managed to park outside which is free overnight and after 6pm. Very good breakfast. The only thing that would make it even better is a sea view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    236
    85
    26
    10
See reviews for
89
494
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

With all the hotel i have stayed in this one is the best. It clean the bedrooms are big with easy chairs . The bed very comfey slept like a log. The haggis baked eggs where amazing.Well recommend. Its the first time I have stayed in a hotel in Oban as I all ways stayed with.family . I will return to this one.again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of The Ranald Hotel, and to say it is the best hotel you have stayed in is such a compliment to us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and you got to try our delicious baked eggs. Thank you again and many thanks for recommending our hotel,it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again once you return to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed in a top floor twin room which had plenty of space, comfortable beds and brilliant shower room. Breakfasts were super with good range of fresh food choices. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi in the rooms.The hotel is conveniently situated for walking around the town. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no lift so a lower room may be better for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
ThYour thoughts and comments are always appreciated. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited Oban for my birthday and stayed at the Ranald. It is a good modern hotel with good beds and a great breakfast. The bar / lounge / dining room / reception is a bit cramped at breakfast but, the breakfast is great so, they are forgiven. Try the baked eggs with the filling of your choice.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days ask for a room at the front. The ones at the back face a rockface...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Ranald Hotel! We try to do our best with the space we have available and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast especially our famous baked eggs!
Hopefully we will see you again if you happen to return to Oban.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just back from a very enjoyable stay at The Ranald Hotel. The staff were very friendly. Lovely modern hotel, exceptionally clean with large comfy beds. Wish I could have brought the power shower home with me didn't want to get out. I would recommend the baked eggs for breakfast they were delicious. The hotel is so close to everything you need shops and pier. I would also recommend eating in their sister restaurants. We had a lovely lunch in the Lambrig and evening meal at the Cuan Mor. We hope to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socosooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your great review of The Ranald! We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and it's also great to hear that you had lovely meals in our sister restaurants!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald on your next trip to Oban. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a cracker! Beautiful new hotel in Oban. Ideally placed for all that Oban has to offer. Room was beautiful, lovely decor. OMG the shower was amazing, a power shower that does what it says on the tin! Lush soft towels too. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast: well what can I say, thought i would miss the 'fry up' but was pleasantly surprised at what comes out of that small pantry. Overall could not fault The Ranald to be honest. We will certainly be back . Well done all, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: 105 the shower is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review of The Ranald! It's great to hear such positive comments from our guests and we are delighted to hear that you would return on your next trip to Oban. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were extremely pleased with the Hotel staying in a Grand room on the third floor. The whole hotel and room were clean, the staff were extremely friendly, it was well within walking distance of everything in the town and delicious breakfasts! It was so peaceful at all times of day and night too!

Room Tip: We used Group On vouchers for extra value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review on TripAdvisor! We love to get such great comments from our guests and I will make sure they are passed on to all members of staff. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Oban to experience another great stay at The Ranald Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing