We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Rowans B & B(Connel)(Great Value!)
US$105
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
453
273
106
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
273
106
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a lovely modern hotel not far from the city center. There's a pub next door, the prices were good and the food very good. The receptionist was wonderful; we arrived early but she took our luggage up to our room as we went out to see Oban. The rooms are very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. They gave us plenty of coffee/tea and biscuits for the morning. The bathrooms are large and clean. Breakfast was given with the price of our stay and it was made to order, delicious and plenty to choose from. The only downside is there is no parking but there is overnight parking in front of the hotel for free. And a couple blocks away there is free parking all day and night. This is a great place to stay, there are no complaints from us.

Room Tip: If you drive, stop in front of the hotel to drop of your luggage then go park your car.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good to see a decent hotel in Oban at long last. Stayed one night while on business. Very clean, bed very comfortable and fantastic shower room. Great to have free wifi. Managed to park outside which is free overnight and after 6pm. Very good breakfast. The only thing that would make it even better is a sea view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

With all the hotel i have stayed in this one is the best. It clean the bedrooms are big with easy chairs . The bed very comfey slept like a log. The haggis baked eggs where amazing.Well recommend. Its the first time I have stayed in a hotel in Oban as I all ways stayed with.family . I will return to this one.again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of The Ranald Hotel, and to say it is the best hotel you have stayed in is such a compliment to us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and you got to try our delicious baked eggs. Thank you again and many thanks for recommending our hotel,it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again once you return to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed in a top floor twin room which had plenty of space, comfortable beds and brilliant shower room. Breakfasts were super with good range of fresh food choices. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi in the rooms.The hotel is conveniently situated for walking around the town. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no lift so a lower room may be better for some.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

ThYour thoughts and comments are always appreciated. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited Oban for my birthday and stayed at the Ranald. It is a good modern hotel with good beds and a great breakfast. The bar / lounge / dining room / reception is a bit cramped at breakfast but, the breakfast is great so, they are forgiven. Try the baked eggs with the filling of your choice.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days ask for a room at the front. The ones at the back face a rockface!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Ranald Hotel! We try to do our best with the space we have available and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast especially our famous baked eggs!
Hopefully we will see you again if you happen to return to Oban.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews