We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre/post ferry/train hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent pre/post ferry/train hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Small, modern hotel perfect for overnight stays. Staff very, very friendly and efficient. Excellent breakfast , - try the baked eggs, (they also do a "grab bag" for a quick getaway). Easy walking distance to ferry and train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you had a great stay at The Ranald Hotel and managed to try our quirky breakfast! Thank you again and we do hope you can return in the not so near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    234
    84
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
487
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

When on a short stay, the most important things are a comfortable bed, hot shower and good breakfast. This hotel provides all of these. There are no communal rooms to speak of (a small bar area come breakfast room) but the bedrooms are spacious enough. I must praise the staff, all were friendly and helpful. Minor disturbance of sleep when the pub down the road emptied but not enough to ruin our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbyfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our friendly service. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Was a little taken aback when we pulled in front of the hotel. The exterior looked...well..bland. However, the interior is modern clean and pleasant. Our room was quite comfortable. The location to the waterfront was convenient. Breakfast was good and well prepared. The only negative would be no lift and the hotel has no private parking so one must park on the street or in a nearby public lot. We were fortunate to find a parking place outside on the street across from the hotel but had to leave by 9 am or pay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fdp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald Hotel should you return to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My partner and I visit Oban every year. This was our second year staying at The Ranald and it was just as fantastic as we remembered! The location is great and we got parked right outside the front door. Our room was on the 2nd floor, facing the street. We stayed 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday) and had no problems with outside noise. Our room was wee but perfect for our needs (the addition of a full length mirror would be a bonus though). Breakfast was delicious and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for yet again another wonderful review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay just as much as your first and we are looking forward to your next stay with us next May. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent location, just one street back from the sea front. new building and on first appearance the finish seems a bit basic (painted breeze block) but everything is extremely clean, a well maintained, warm and comfortable. The standard rooms are very spacious and the bed and pillows superbly comfortable. The bathroom was also well appointed and spacious and the power shower was just wonderful as were the huge fluffy bath towels. On arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room with an offer of help with our luggage. The level of service throughout our stay was spot on - thoughtful and helpful without being intrusive.

Room Tip: Good range of room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and would return if we were to find another excellent deal from Itison. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. The bed was large and comfortable and the bedding was of excellent quality. Very centrally located. Very good breakfast although if you require a gluten- free menu make sure you tell them when booking and remind them before you arrive or your choices will be limited. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We spent a wonderful day on the beautiful nearby island of Kerrera. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Room 104 was fairly quiet as it was looking onto a rock face at the back of the building. It was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annepharm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a lovely modern hotel not far from the city center. There's a pub next door, the prices were good and the food very good. The receptionist was wonderful; we arrived early but she took our luggage up to our room as we went out to see Oban. The rooms are very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. They gave us plenty of coffee/tea and biscuits for the morning. The bathrooms are large and clean. Breakfast was given with the price of our stay and it was made to order, delicious and plenty to choose from. The only downside is there is no parking but there is overnight parking in front of the hotel for free. And a couple blocks away there is free parking all day and night. This is a great place to stay, there are no complaints from us.

Room Tip: If you drive, stop in front of the hotel to drop of your luggage then go park your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing