We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
453
273
106
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
273
106
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent a night here with two other couples and the hotel was great, clean, comfortable, breakfast was good, but the gold star has to go to the lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of a cliff but very private and no noise from pubs that other reviewers have mentioned.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for leaving us a wonderful 5* review on TripAdvisor! We love to get such positive comments from our guests and I will make sure they are passed on to all the staff. Thank you once again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If a hotel describes its rooms as quirky, curious, original or whatever then you know what to expect and can hardly complain if floorboards creak, the plumbing gurgles and whines and you can follow the conversation in the neighbouring rooms. The Ranald, fortunately, is modern, and has nothing to hide or disguise. It is simple but the rooms are excellent, with comfort and safety in mind. The breakfast area is very small but who needs acres of space, and don't expect a full traditional Scottish breakfast but be happy that someone came up with the idea of delicious baked eggs over smoked salmon or two other fillings. There is plenty more to choose from.
No creaking floorboards, no noisy plumbing, no sound from neighbouring rooms - but try not to get a room by the very efficient fire doors which clang shut (rather noise and safety than dodgy fire doors and quiet) if not slowed down, and hope that other hotel guests go to bed early because the conversation and noisy doorlocks in the corridor do penetrate with ease.
Parking no problem in the evening, even on a Saturday.

Room Tip: Larger rooms fab
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalEsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Small, modern hotel perfect for overnight stays. Staff very, very friendly and efficient. Excellent breakfast , - try the baked eggs, (they also do a "grab bag" for a quick getaway). Easy walking distance to ferry and train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you had a great stay at The Ranald Hotel and managed to try our quirky breakfast! Thank you again and we do hope you can return in the not so near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

When on a short stay, the most important things are a comfortable bed, hot shower and good breakfast. This hotel provides all of these. There are no communal rooms to speak of (a small bar area come breakfast room) but the bedrooms are spacious enough. I must praise the staff, all were friendly and helpful. Minor disturbance of sleep when the pub down the road emptied but not enough to ruin our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbyfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our friendly service. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was a little taken aback when we pulled in front of the hotel. The exterior looked...well..bland. However, the interior is modern clean and pleasant. Our room was quite comfortable. The location to the waterfront was convenient. Breakfast was good and well prepared. The only negative would be no lift and the hotel has no private parking so one must park on the street or in a nearby public lot. We were fortunate to find a parking place outside on the street across from the hotel but had to leave by 9 am or pay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fdp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald Hotel should you return to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews