We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavy”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staying in The Ranald can be a heavy job. This hotel is modern styled and the rooms are comfortable enough. So far, so good. But what lacks is an elevator. First of all to bring your luggage to your room and also for elderly people. Guests who arrive by car will not find parking-place nearby. It takes a walk and... many coins for the ticket machine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raybel2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback of The Ranald Hotel.We are pleased to hear that your found the hotel modern and comfortable! Unfortunately the spaces in front of the hotel are council owned and we clearly state on our website and all promotional material that we do not have any designated parking, however we do try our best to ensure all our guests are made fully aware of all parking options including a number of free car parks within 5 minutes of the hotel.
The lack of elevator is also made clear when booking and our staff are always on hand to assist with any luggage and we can try to arrange accommodation on lower floors when guests request this at the time of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

'The Ranald is a modern hotel with lovely rooms. We stayed in a small compact room and were surprised by how big it was. The room had everything you needed, tea/coffee making facilities, large tv and bedside clock.
The shower was super. The water was hot and instantaneous. The towels were fluffy and so clean.
Breakfast was good with a wide choice of items.
The staff were all so polite and kind. A real asset to the hotel.
The location was very central for everything.
MY only downside was there was no parking, as it was all metered outside hotel and there were car parks around town! We parked near the leisure centre and walked to hotel.
I would stay there again. It was a fab hotel and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helendc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the friendly service from our staff. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very disappointed with this venue, the hotel itself is well situated however take plenty of money for parking as you must feed a meter which adds on at least £10 per day. We opted for a superior room as we had a young child as we were told it had more room and we would receive other extras for our additional £25, what a con. We received two chocolates and the room was so small you were struggling to move about. There was almost no area to hang clothes, indeed the cot we received for our young child didn't even have a mattress, our own double bed was so small that if you were over 5 foot 7 your feet would overhang the bed. This is a nice clean venue, however quite clearly has ideas above it's station, not worth £125 a night, perhaps £75 at a push.
Breakfast was basic, I mean basic, nothing to write home about, the verdict is "could do a lot better"

Room Tip: Remember to take plenty of change for parking and if you are over 5 foot 5 inches, go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback Gavin. We're also really disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay.

We clearly state on our website that we do not have any designated parking directly for Hotel residents, however we do our best to ensure all our guests are made fully aware of all options including a number of free parking options within a five minute walk from the hotel. The hotel itself does not generate any income from any of the parking meters around the Hotel - these are Council run parking meters which we have no control over.

Our website also clearly states the sizes of each of our room types to guide potential customers prior to booking. We can only apologise if this information was not given to you accurately when you inquired. All our rooms have ample wardrobe space for hanging clothes as well as drawers and storage space within the room.

Our beds in the Grand rooms have super king sized beds offering plenty of space for all couples or individuals who stay at The Ranald Hotel. We also advise all guests bringing young children what we provide for them.

Our website also states clearly our breakfast options in order for us to inform guests of their options prior to arrival and ensure that they are not expecting options we cannot accommodate.

We continue to monitor our room prices with other accommodation providers across the UK to ensure that we are competitively priced for what we offer our guests.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your experience at The Ranald Hotel however we do encourage our guests to share with us any concerns they have at the time of their stay in order for us to resolve these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at The Ranald in mid-June and were pleased with our accomodations. The room was attractively furnished in a non-fussy fashion, and it was very clean and spacious. Although small, the bathroom was also very clean. The hotel's location, downtown just one short block off the main street,is convenient and means it's possible to walk nearly everywhere. We enjoyed the breakfast included with the room, but were amused by the room in which it was served-- a quirky combination of breakfast room, bar, and reception area. However, it seemed to function well in all capacities. We would happily return to The Ranald if we are in Oban again, but I would like to address some of the comments made by other reviewers. First is the lack of elevator. While this didn't bother us since our room was on the second floor, it could certainly present a problem under some circumstances and is something to take into consideration. Second is noise level. Once again, this does not apply to us because our room at the back of the hotel was quiet, but when one is staying at a hotel located right downtown, it is only realistic to expect some noise. If quiet is a priority, request a room at the back or realize that this might not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Choose second floor at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your recent stay at The Ranald Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel, clean, contemporary, spacious and positioned in the ideal location. If you do happen to visit Oban again, we hope that you choose The Ranald Hotel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Perfectly placed to walk not Oban. New clean and we'll appointed. Good continental breakfast. The hotel is three stories and has no lift. So my only warning is if you are infirm, probably go somewhere else

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodders20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back if you happen to return to Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stated here with 6 friends 2 weekends ago for two nights. We were all on motorcycles and found parking outside no problem at all. The hotel was very inviting and we were greeted with a huge smile and good humour. We paid a bit extra for a huge room on the GOP floor. Ok, no lift but come on, nit exactly a big deal! The room was fantastic and we were over the moon. Lovely big bed, nice lounge area and a nice bathroom. The only issue we had was a leaking shower door where the seal had come away - we could have complained but didn't get around go it - no big deal.

The bar area was lovely and the waitress was very nice - great go have the drinks brought to you.

Breakfast in the same room was, I have to say, bloody brilliant!! I was a bit worried having read some reviews on here, but it made a lovely change from your usual fried English breakfast. The selection was fine and the coffee very tasty - no complaints.

Returned that night to freshly made room. Lively shower, coffee in room then Back to bar where the poor waiter was rushed of his feet - despite this he had time to chat, crack some jokes and make us feel really welcome.

Final morning was also really busy - we couldn't get a table for breakfast so went for a walk in the sun for 30 minutes then came back for a late feed.

Overall, we loved this place - room, food, staff and general feeling can't be faulted.

Thanks to all the staff. We will return!

Room Tip: Avoid reviews - pay a little extra for top floor suite!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBirdEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review of The Ranald! It's great to hear such positive comments from our guests and that you enjoyed everything we had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

had some time off from work love oban last minute decision to go away for the night found a great deal at the hotel very clean as hotel is only 2 years old very light breakfast as not a big eater in the mornings . our stay was over too quick but we will return sometime in the future

Room Tip: 2nd floor suite very peaceful
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald Hotel when you return to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: £82 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing