We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
453
273
106
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
273
106
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here so that we would be close to the terminal for an early sailing to North Uist. It is purpose built with a kind of warehouse vibe, ie painted blockwork, but quite luxurious in feel and tasteful decor and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no free parking available during the day (a Friday) although we searched the two suggested carparks, but we were able to park free outside the hotel after 6pm. Only downside was the level of street noise on a Friday night with shouting and merry laughter until well after 2am! Even with the window closed it was quite loud.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a review of The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you thought our staff were friendly and helpful and found the hotel tastefully decorated and very comfortable. You are correct, that at the weekends, all town centre hotels, there can be a bit of noise from people leaving pubs. We do have rooms at the rear of the hotel that are quieter and could be an option for you if you do return to Oban. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel stands out from the crowds in Oban as a modern purpose built hotel.
I have stayed in a couple of hotels in Oban and most are old style and quite often lacking modernization.
The room was a good size with a really comfy big bed.
The porter showed us to the room and explained all the bits and bobs including the free wifi and password etc.
We had to leave early to get the morning ferry so would miss breakfast but the porter offered us a goody bag with fruit and yogurt etc which was a nice touch.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good sleep :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spend a night at this place. Had seen good reviews of the hotel and it does not disappoint you to that count. However if someone is looking for a low end luxury then one will be disappointed. The rooms are very small and the hotel itself looks like it is in an apartment. Well for a long stay in Oban, I am not so convinced that this is the right place however tastes do differ. Breakfast was great with assortments of fruits, cookies and yogurts amongst other things. Recommended for a short visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sujoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing The Ranald Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel ideal for an overnight stay and liked our quirky breakfast we have on offer. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived in Oban after stunning train journey from Glasgow. Staff were very welcoming. The decor is modern & it is spotlessly clean. We had a good nights sleep dispute extremely warm weather - fan in room was helpful & didn't make too much noise. As the hotel was fully booked & we booked late we had to move on second night - again staff so helpful, we left luggage in first room & when we got back that night it was transferred to second. The breakfast was delicious - recommend the salmon egg pot!! The breakfast was varied & home cooked. I thoroughly recommend this lovely little hotel & staff. Hope to come back.

Room Tip: If weather hot pick ground floor room - cooler.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our friendly service. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spend a single night here in July on our way to Isle of Mull. Our criteria was central and close to ferry terminal. It satisfied on all counts. The hotel is modern; well appointed room and bathroom. Family room accommodates four. Unusually, it was a warm day and the room temperature was somewhat uncomfortable during the night. An unusual circumstance so no A/C but there is a fan.

The hotel does not seem to have a lift which maybe an issue for elderly or with lots of luggage.

Breakfast was served in the small reception area. It was perfectly adequate.

The hotel is well located close to all the town centre within walking distance of the Oban distillery and restaurants on the north pier.

The ferry terminal is a short 5-minute drive away; hotel has no parking so need to park on the street which is an hourly charge during the daytime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for leaving your feedback of The Ranald. Unfortunately during your stay we had a heatwave which is very uncommon for Scotland hence the reason why we have no air con but we do provided fans in all rooms for these situations. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay and hope to see you again if you return to Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews