We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
464
278
117
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
278
117
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked eggs no lift metro hotel compact room grand room modern hotel great wee hotel power shower third floor ferry terminal central location smoked salmon breakfast room stayed for one night haggis comfortable bed car park
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed here on the night of 20th March. Arrived around 4.00pm. Very welcoming staff and easy check-in. Given room 107 which was very nice. Clean and fresh, with plenty space for our luggage. En suite was lovely. Quality soap and moisturiser, clean towels and a shiny power shower. Breakfast at 8.30 was great. Baked eggs with either salmon or ham and mushroom, toast, croissants, cereal, porridge, and plenty tea or coffee. The very pleasant girls in reception let us leave our bags until 3.00pm so that we didn't have to drag them around all day. All in all a very pleasant stay. We hope to return to the Ranald soon.

Room Tip: This is a smart modern boutique hotel, so don't expect the grandeur of the Ritz.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaryfromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan R, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I shall pass on your comments to our team, they will be delighted.

We hope to see you again soon for another great visit!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Stayed two nights with an itison voucher. Very nice modern hotel.
Smooth check in. Paid parking on street in front of hotel or a free carpark a few minutes walk away. Lovely rooms with super king size beds, power shower and tea and coffee and complimentary bottles of water.
Simple but plentiful buffet breakfast and the baked eggs were excellent.
Ice willingly provided on request. Free WiFi. Would highly recommend and hope to stay again .

Room Tip: Grand plus has a seating area.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kjsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan R, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team!

The itison voucher are a great deal which we will hopefully do again in the winter.

I do hope you can return in future, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This is a small very friendly hotel 5 minutes from train station. The hotel's decor is modern, very clean, we will be back soon, only booked for one night but when we arrived we decided to stay for 2 nights . The hotel has a very friendly, homely atmosphere and had a map of the area at hand therefore was easy to find resturants and places of interest. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan R, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

It was lovely having such friendly guests staying at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

First visit to a Metro Hotel. My husband and I were delighted with the location. We drove to Oban and the hotel staff were very helpful in advises us where the nearest free overnight car park was located, 5 min walk from hotel. The hotel looks small but the decor was lovely. We booked a deluxe room which was clean a good size and met all our needs. No view but that was ok as it was quiet being at the back of the hotel. We had two great nights sleep, comfortable bed and lovely breakfast all fresh produce. It was actually refreshing not having a full Scottish breakfast. I would recommend a stay in this hotel perfect for a mini break to explore Oban.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 111jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan R, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of the ranald hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and It's great to read such positive comments on all aspects of the hotel.

I hope you have a chance to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a weekend here late February. There had been a mix up in our booking and we were not booked in when we arrived. Availability in Oban was scarce but Jamie on reception tried tirelessly to sort the problem and managed to get us two rooms!!! The rooms are beautiful, very large beds and extremely comfortable. We had read the mixed reviews about breakfast, I honestly don't know how anyone could complain. We all had something different and could not have faulted it, the fresh fruit was of exceptional quality. I would give this hotel 6 stars for customer service, Jamie we will be back for your pleasant personality alone! Well done.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan R, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Ranald hotel ( and Jamie)
We are very sorry for the mix up on arrival, but we are delighted the issue was resolved as quickly as possible.
Jamie commented on how lovely your group were to him even though we had obviously made a mistake, so he will be very pleased to read how much you went on to enjoy your stay.
It is always nice to hear when guests enjoy the breakfast, as we really love the fresh croissants and fruit salad on offer.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews