We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap - in nearly any way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alderlea Guesthouse
Ranked #82 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Even if the host was very nice and kind, we did'nt feel very well in this place. The room 3b was furnished in a very ugly way, carelessly. Especially the bathroom was terrible. For one night it was o.k. but for a longer stay we want recommend it. The breakfast was good, even if in the basement.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hello there,
I am very sorry you feel that way about the room. Is a shame because slot of guests like that room.
I do understand that everyone does have different tastes.
The bathroom has a shower and toilet and basin and no other frills so, it is clean.
I do show all my guests the rooms before they accept and if the room wasn't for you then why upset yourself by staying there?
On the positive side thank you for saying the breakfast was good and as for it being in the basement level yes but doesn't look like just some old basement, its dinning room and is a dinning room setting regardless of what level it's on.
However i I take your comments on board and wish you all the best for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

short walk to centre and motorbike friendly and private offroad motor cycle parking .
small room and bed but spotless ,reasonably priced.
Good choice of restaurants and cafes.
.Enjoyed our 2 nights in Oban

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Director at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review and hope to see you again maybe in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was touring Scotland on my motorbike and Oban was my next overnight stay. I stood in reception, unshaven and road ravaged, and was offered what I wanted - a cheap single room for one night with breakfast. Room 8 is at the top of the house and has impressive views. T.V, shower, comfortable warm bed, tea/coffee. They even have motorbike parking. I didn't have an evening meal but it smelled fantastic. I had a good cooked breakfast and was served quickly. There are no soaps/shower gels etc or a glass but obviously there's a mug. Hey, what do you want for only thirty quid?! I'd definitely stay there again.
Dave Sanderson.

Room Tip: If my single room is the same standard as the rest, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hello there thank you very much for your comment, glad you had a nice stay! Hope to see you again maybe in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting Oban. The rooms were clean and comfortable (good bathroom) and the breakfasts were good too (set us up for a day in the Highlands). The price was good and although this B&B isn't really a luxury place, I don't think that is what it's aiming for - it's a decent place with a decent price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

thank you very much for taking the opportunity to right your review. I am glad you had a nice stay.
you are right we do not aim to be a 5 star establishment. we are a family run guesthouse that welcomes everyone. with the current financial problems world wide we feel a clean room, comfort , good breakfast and all the neseseties needed i.e towels, tea/coffee making facilities, wardrobe space, hair dyers, flat screen t.v , iron and ironing board and most rooms being en-suite are what we offer for a great affordable price which you mentioned as well thank you. we feel for us to start putting luxury items in rooms will mean we have to increase our tariff which in turn would not help Alderlea house which the majority now a days prefer to go for the cheaper alternative. we how ever do not put our standards very low to achieve the great prices but compremise on having luxury furniture in the room. it was lovely to meet you and hope to meet you again some time in the future take care and once again thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just to say thank you for your wonderfull hospitality at Alderlea. Not only the breakfast is wonderful but even evening meals at very good prices.
Margaret went extra miles when we encountered the problem of lost luggage. She handled the issue very well whilst we were enjoying a day in Inverary. Then, she was extremely helpfull in assisting us when my wife required medical attention. She managed to get us an appointment in minutes time. Andy? He is added value for the complex!!

Billy & Guzeppa
MALTA

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

hello to you both! hope all is well, thank you for this lovely review and i a so happy you enjoyed your stay as this is what we like to be the outcome of every ones stay. as for the luggage, i was only to happy to help,its my job, there would be no point in you going on holiday just to spend a day waiting for luggage!! :-) thrilled to have you both 2 years running and see you again soon, maybe a cheeky wee holiday to malta for me :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

if you re working in oban or just visiting it will be hard to find somewhere more friendly or accommodating and justins enchiladdas are magic though wee andy s thai curry is not bad either this is the perfect place to locate if you want a chilled out break

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 624hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Manager at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

thank you very much for your lovely review, justin and andy are asking when you are next here? just said he would make you a better tai curry lolz! see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibisc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
505 reviews
4 mi away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 8 in Connel
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
3 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderlea Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderlea Guesthouse

Address: Alderlea Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £39 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alderlea Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderlea Guesthouse Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing