We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service”

Crystal Palace Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The gentleman that initially took my order was very pleasant and cheerful. Food was made very quickly, however the owner of the establishment does not seem to posses any people skills. Very little eye contact, was met with a sneer, I felt that she did not want me in her restaurant. This can't be put down to it being busy, there was only me and one other customer in at the time. Definitely will not be returning here. Avoid if possible.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    17
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bland and tasteless”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Bought a takeaway from here last night and its fair to say that we will not return. Combination rice and chicken chow mein were absolutely tasteless. Chips were reheats and the curry sauce certainly didn't taste like curry sauce. The food was delivered in polystyrene cartons and was cold by the time we got it home.The only decent thing was the free prawn crackers. Being local we had never tried this takeaway before but thought we would give it a go, how disappointing. Will remain a loyal China customer even if we don't get free prawn crackers. I'm our opinion avoid at all costs

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lousteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Ever”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had the most fab takeaway meal from the crystal palace best we have ever had anywhere 12/10. Excellent the fillet steak Cantonese melted in your mouth thx

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“absolutely fab”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

first visit as soon as we spoke to the owner we recognised her we were in stranraer 2 years ago and we met her there great to catch up as we received vip treatment place was busy but she made time for us and a wee chat food was excellent will be back soon hopefully

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the Canton Duck”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On our school trip to Scotland, we also stayed in Oban. After a long day driving around we looked for a nice place to enjoy dinner and decided to go to this Chinese restaurant. I really liked the Canton Duck I had. It tasted like Christmas. I highly recommend it!
Nevertheless, I have to say that the prices weren't that cheap and even a small cup of sweet chili sauce cost a lot. But all in all I enjoyed eating at Crystal Palace!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Crystal Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing