We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY ENJOYABLE STAY”
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greystones
Ranked #7 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
KNUTSFORD
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“VERY ENJOYABLE STAY”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Renovated boutique hotel with stunning rooms, views and that personal touch. Mark and Suzanne who own and run the hotel are really friendly people who put their guests at ease from the minute you enter.They have done an excellent job on remodelling the hotel and the interior design features were to a very high standard.
Breakfasts are excellent - you must start the day with their porridge with whiskey on the top! Beautiful views over the harbour of Oban. Nice easy 2 minute walk down to the town centre and a good keep fit walk back up!
We would definitely stay there again and have no hesistation in recommending it to anyone heading to Oban.

Room Tip: Can't remember our room number but it is the one at the front with the round tower roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
179
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The place is newly renovated in a very stately old grey stone building. The contrast between modern and historic is done with great taste. GREAT location, Mark and Suzanne were great hosts, and the service and breakfast were excellent. One block walk to the Oban distillery. The town was delightfully active - we came across a street youth bagpipe troupe concert and later a street concert by a group of Germans playing instruments I have never seen before. The place and town prompted my wife to ask if we could spend a summer sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and the view over the harbor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seayamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a treat it was to stay at Greystones! We felt spoiled and very well attended. The view from our room was breathtaking and the rooms were beautiful. I loved the heritage of the house and the fact that it was within walking distance of many restaurants and sites in Oban. We particularly enjoyed having a little glass of sherry in the library after a long day of site seeing. It was a lovely experience and we hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent luxury B & B. A lovely warm and friendly welcome. Close to the town. Superb breakfast. Rooms exceptionally clean. Nostalgic visit as it was the former maternity hospital where my Mother gave birth to my sister.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed 11 Nights at Greystones. From day one every thing was beyond our expectations, beginning our day with our favourite scottish whisky porridge, which i became so addictive of, the breakfast menu was sweet and traditional with very good selections, with great flexibility of time and care.
Room was very clean, good size and cosy with high ceilings, big windows and lovely view across the sea and city.
Mark and Suzanne were exceptionally kind and very professional at what they did. They had huge knowledge about the region and were always very willing to help.
Greystones is highly recommended to anyone who would want to spend a splendid night at Oban.
Many Thanks,
Renata & Rohit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the turret suite in late July 2013. Stunning quality with a seating area in the turret looking over Oban bay, giant size bed with lovely linen and fluffy bathrobes. All rooms seem to be huge. The bathroom would have done a Four Seasons hotel proud, wak through shower and free standing bath. All decor in restful white. No kids allowed so very peaceful.

Breakfasts locally sourced and a good choice of traditional and alternatives available.

Location a 2 minute walk downhill to the town centre. The selection of guidebooks and the tray of sherry in the lounge are lovely touches.

Congratulations to Mark and Suzanne, we would recommend this very highly.

Room Tip: If you can splurge out do go for the Turret Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceriajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night at Greystones, Oban, on 9 July 2013. Expectations were running high, having seen the beautiful photographs on the website, yet it surpassed expectations. I have run out of superlatives that will do it justice! We loved the serenity of the décor. Our room was beautiful. There were original fireplaces in both the bedroom and the bathroom, white walls with high ceilings and original ceiling mouldings, gorgeous linens. The owners have an enviable sense of style and an eye for detail. Everything is, quite simply, perfect. The same goes for breakfast, which was served in the stunning dining room complete with turret and sea view. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Greystones is an imposing building in a wonderful position with views across the town to Pulpit Hill and of course to the islands. It was very peaceful indeed, despite its proximity to the town centre. I can also recommend dinner at Coast and a trip to the island of Kerrera. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Property: Greystones
Address: 1 Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greystones 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand baronial townhouse with stunning views of Oban bay, Greystones combines luxury and comfort with unique contemporary interiors. Elegant bedrooms with Egyptian cotton bed linen. Designer bathrooms with indulgent baths and luxury toiletries. Imaginative breakfasts featuring smoked salmon, kedgeree and the traditional Scottish breakfast. Relax and unwind in style with friendly personal service and exceptional attention to detail. A hidden gem in the heart of Oban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing