We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting for a Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greystones
Ranked #6 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We selected Oban for a long weekend to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Greystones was one of a select few listed on Ee-usk's website (an Oban seafood restaurant we wanted to dine at), so we were glad to be able to book here.
Mark and Suzanne met us on arrival and showed us to our room. Great views over Oban Bay and towards the Ferry terminal, as well as up to McCaig's Tower (best place from which to watch a sunset).
Breakfasts were ordered from a wide choice on the menu, via a form which had to be submitted the night before. An early breakfast was arranged on our first morning as we were taking the Ferry to Mull and Iona and had to be at the terminal by 8:45. Normal breakfast service is between 8:30 and 9:30 which was perfect on the other mornings of our stay.
Breakfasts were delicious. Our room was comfortably appointed and very stylish and everything was scrupulously clean. Everything you need from a guest house, and free Wi-Fi too for keeping in touch.
If you visit Oban, stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms No. 2-5 have great views over Oban. Room 1 is on the ground floor, with views over the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandcastle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
167
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast, Ooh, Ess, Ahh
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I recently took a ten day swing through her homeland. We landed and spent a few days in Edinburgh but the headed West to Oban as we were going to head North to Skye and the Highlands but I wanted to visit the distillery there in Oban given my predilection. We stayed a perfect one night stay with our hosts Mark and Suzanne and their beautiful Greystones B&B.
The building is situated on a hill above the harbor and takes terrific advantage with the beautiful views featuring island ferries coming and going. The building itself is a labor of love by the two architect owners who have completely restored this baronial style building with great respect and attention to detail. The stay was restful and quiet but the town center with its harbor waterfront and distillery is a one block downhill walk from Greystones.

Our breakfast was situated in the impeccable dining area. I had the whisky and brown sugar porridge followed by smoke salmon and scramble egg on a muffin with juice and coffee. A great meal to start the day.

Greystones has offsite parking and very easy access. If you're headed to Oban then look up Greystones you will be very pleased you did.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is by far the best place we have stayed in Scotland. Beautiful views, excellent position in town, lovely well designed rooms, delicious food. We were very sorry not to be able to stay longer as we would have enjoyed many more hours spent in the comfort of our room enjoying the panoramic view from the bay window. Thoroughly recommend this to anyone thinking of making a trip to Oban, it is a little more expensive than average but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downthepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Greystones is located close enough to the amenities of Oban to allow walking to restaurants and shops, and far enough to allow peace and tranquility.
The house is an impressive and beautiful building with a very grand entrance.
The rooms are light, bright, furnished in an elegant style with many period features retained,and ours had a perfect view. The comfortable beds and lovely bathroom made leaving very difficult!
Breakfast was delicious, an extensive menu with locally sourced produce, was presented and served perfectly.
The hosts, Suzanne and Mark, seamlessly combine warmth and welcoming hospitality with professionalism.
We would very happily highly recommend Greystones and doubt better accommodation could be found.

Room Tip: If you have any preference, ask Suzanne or Mark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gg2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNUTSFORD
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Renovated boutique hotel with stunning rooms, views and that personal touch. Mark and Suzanne who own and run the hotel are really friendly people who put their guests at ease from the minute you enter.They have done an excellent job on remodelling the hotel and the interior design features were to a very high standard.
Breakfasts are excellent - you must start the day with their porridge with whiskey on the top! Beautiful views over the harbour of Oban. Nice easy 2 minute walk down to the town centre and a good keep fit walk back up!
We would definitely stay there again and have no hesistation in recommending it to anyone heading to Oban.

Room Tip: Can't remember our room number but it is the one at the front with the round tower roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The place is newly renovated in a very stately old grey stone building. The contrast between modern and historic is done with great taste. GREAT location, Mark and Suzanne were great hosts, and the service and breakfast were excellent. One block walk to the Oban distillery. The town was delightfully active - we came across a street youth bagpipe troupe concert and later a street concert by a group of Germans playing instruments I have never seen before. The place and town prompted my wife to ask if we could spend a summer sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and the view over the harbor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seayamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a treat it was to stay at Greystones! We felt spoiled and very well attended. The view from our room was breathtaking and the rooms were beautiful. I loved the heritage of the house and the fact that it was within walking distance of many restaurants and sites in Oban. We particularly enjoyed having a little glass of sherry in the library after a long day of site seeing. It was a lovely experience and we hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Property: Greystones
Address: 1 Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand baronial townhouse with stunning views of Oban bay, Greystones combines luxury and comfort with unique contemporary interiors. Elegant bedrooms with Egyptian cotton bed linen. Designer bathrooms with indulgent baths and luxury toiletries. Imaginative breakfasts featuring smoked salmon, kedgeree and the traditional Scottish breakfast. Relax and unwind in style with friendly personal service and exceptional attention to detail. A hidden gem in the heart of Oban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing