We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greystones
Ranked #6 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We unfortunately could only stay one night. It is easy to find and has of street parking.What a fantastic place. The building from the outside is very grand and can be seen from the town centre proudly perched on hill. The interior and rooms are all decorated tastefully and to a very high standard. We stayed in room 5. The room was amazing,very spacious and had a bay window with stunning views over the bay .The bathroom was out of this world. The apricot,almond and honey porridge was delicious. Suzanne and Mark are very welcoming hosts and have created a real haven. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
164
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

First of all, we arrived in the middle of the Wimbleton playoffs, so understandably we had to ring an extra time for our hosts to hear us. As the door opened we were greeted in an wonderfully bright and open vestibule by our equally bright and welcoming hosts. Restoring and updating Greystokes is an ongoing labour of love for the owners, Mark and Suzanne, who do everything themselves including the cleaning, gardening and preparing a delicious and nutritious breakfast.
The house is a relatively easy walk from the train and ferry; the last 100 metres or so are uphill but that means the views from Greystones are breathtaking. Our room on the main floor was large and spacious, beautifully appointed. After checking in we set off to explore and get our ferry tickets for the next days journey onward to Iona. We stopped at a pub by the water to watch the end of the tennis match; locals and tourists gathered for the excitement and we held our collective breaths as the match went on and then cheered like Scots when Andy Murray won. The people of Oban were so friendly and welcoming everywhere we went.
Back at Greystokes, sherry was available in the sitting room. We chose to return to our room to make a cup of tea and settle into chairs by the window to munch on biscuits and read before climbing into our big, comfy bed - the perfect end to a busy day. Our bathroom was beautiful, large and airy - great natural amenities were provided.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our trip to Scotland this September. We stayed in 4 different B&B's in 4 different cities. While all were very nice, Greystones sets the bar higher than any other B&B I've ever been to. The architecture, the open spaces, the layout, it's all first class. We stayed in the largest room, the turret suite and I can say this compares to any room in any 4-5 star hotel we've ever stayed in (of course this is much more laid back than those hotels).
The views from the west facing turret room were outstanding, looking over the town and onto the bay. We saw the most beautiful sunset the first night there. The bathroom is also very large and done so well, with a large tub for 2 and a walk through shower with a rain head.
The entire B&B is so tastefully decorated. It's very minimalistic with very unique touches everywhere.
The pooridge for breakfast was fantastic! So was everything else we had.
Mark and Suzanne were great hosts and wiling to help point you in the right direction each day if you needed it.
There is also a sitting room on the main floor for all the guests and they have sherry sitting out for anyone who wants it.
I really can't say enough about this B&B. It's that special! Anyone who stays here will be thoroughly impressed.
Thanks again to Mark and Suzanne for the best 3 nights we had on our trip to Scotland!

Room Tip: The Turret Suite is one fantastic room. If you splurge to get it, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dffabric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a wonderful view. Classy combination of clean crisp design while preserving the character of this historic home. Food terrific. Travel information from hosts Mark and Suzanne extremely helpful. We arrived for two nights and immediately booked for a third. Such nice touches like sherry in the lounge room each evening. Hosts very accommodating. I would highly recommend this place. We loved it way more than our 5 star hotel in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: worth the upgrade to get a room with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_mum_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you are looking for a place in Oban, this is an incredibly beautiful B & B. We had a warm greeting by our hosts and were given fantastic recommendations for various restaurants to try. They accomodated our early schedule for breakfast and wow! was the food fantastic. Definitely try the porridge with raspberries and whiskey! YUM!! The room was quite large and had an incredible view of the harbor as well as McCaig's Tower. I can't say enough positives about this B&B. I would absolutely stay here again. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the harbor was totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
212 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

A very classy, but not ostentatious place to stay ... even for a laidback American couple doing the Scotland loop. Short walk down the hill to a pretty interesting little port town and a short walk up the hill to the McCaig's Tower and some spectacular views over the harbor (and down at Greystones too). Breakfast is in a dining room with outstanding views. Did I need to see haggis on my plate before 8 a.m.? Uh, no. But when in Scotland ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We selected Oban for a long weekend to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Greystones was one of a select few listed on Ee-usk's website (an Oban seafood restaurant we wanted to dine at), so we were glad to be able to book here.
Mark and Suzanne met us on arrival and showed us to our room. Great views over Oban Bay and towards the Ferry terminal, as well as up to McCaig's Tower (best place from which to watch a sunset).
Breakfasts were ordered from a wide choice on the menu, via a form which had to be submitted the night before. An early breakfast was arranged on our first morning as we were taking the Ferry to Mull and Iona and had to be at the terminal by 8:45. Normal breakfast service is between 8:30 and 9:30 which was perfect on the other mornings of our stay.
Breakfasts were delicious. Our room was comfortably appointed and very stylish and everything was scrupulously clean. Everything you need from a guest house, and free Wi-Fi too for keeping in touch.
If you visit Oban, stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms No. 2-5 have great views over Oban. Room 1 is on the ground floor, with views over the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandcastle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Property: Greystones
Address: 1 Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand baronial townhouse with stunning views of Oban bay, Greystones combines luxury and comfort with unique contemporary interiors. Elegant bedrooms with Egyptian cotton bed linen. Designer bathrooms with indulgent baths and luxury toiletries. Imaginative breakfasts featuring smoked salmon, kedgeree and the traditional Scottish breakfast. Relax and unwind in style with friendly personal service and exceptional attention to detail. A hidden gem in the heart of Oban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing