We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and fantastic!”
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystones
Ranked #7 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed there (unfortunately) only for one night on our trip to the Isle of Mull - next time we go to Oban we will definitely stay longer!
The Greystones is a fantastic old house on a hill overlooking Oban (you can even see it rather prominently from the harbour). It is located in a quiet side street, the pedestrian walkway right next to it brings you downhill in less than five minutes to the main street as well as the Oban distillery.
The room was excellent - modern refurbished rooms with high ceilings, fireplaces in the bedroom (with a huge bed) as well as in the bathroom, everything was modern and very luxurious. Breakfast was really excellent in a modern ambiance, all freshly cooked and prepared. Suzanne and Mark were very nice hosts.
Follow their excellent description how to find it, you cannot miss. The best off-road parking space we ever had, right inside the grounds.
There is not better way to stay in Oban!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Greystones
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Greystones is one of the finest B&Bs we have ever stayed at. Everything was impeccable, tastefully decorated, and conducive to a relaxing stay. Our room was huge but comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed such incredible views from our window, it was hard to leave. The breakfasts were very good. The short climb up to the B&B from the main part of town was steep but worth the effort. Mark was incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations and driving directions. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic time at Greystones. We were lucky to be given the Tourette Suite. A fantastic large bedroom with a lovely view over the entire bay and a bathroom you could dance in (Note: with fire place!).
The mix of the historical building with modern Design Elements and Details war just overwhelming and very comfortable. Also our hosts did a magnificent Job. Their breakfast menue is just a feast...We would return anytime.

THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Greystones in May of 2014 and loved it. Its location is brilliant - just 2 or 3 minutes stroll down the hill and you're on the main street, but it's elevated enough to give great views over the harbour and bay. The house is impeccably finished, and our bedroom was great: as someone else mentioned, the shower had great pressure for the UK. The breakfast menu was also very good - I personally recommend the whisky porridge (it feels wrong having whisky at breakfast, but I assure you it's really not). Get to the breakfast room early for the best seats in the corner with stunning morning vistas.

I also have to mention their service: they've thought of everything, including some great pre-prepared suggestions of day-trip itineraries, and some fairly accurate reviews of local restaurants.

It was also great value relative to other B&Bs we've stayed in around the UK, and I cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the front room, which faced the car park but still has nice views over Oban. It's very la...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr0undskeeperWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This charming B&B is prominently located in the centre of Oban with breathtaking views of the whole town and harbour. The house is stunning, the rooms are luxuriously furnished, and the common areas of the house are nothing short of perfect. The couple who owns Greystones were so friendly and helpful, and the breakfast they put on was exquisite. The whiskey porridge is not to be missed!
The whole experience was so warm and welcoming for my husband and me, and it's worth the trip to Oban simply to stay at Greystones. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinFromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we stayed at greystones over easter and cant fault it in any way at all,from the rooms to the absolute delicous breakfast,,i had the whisky porridge,,an absolute must,,and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts..the view from our room was stunning and rooms are tastefully and immaculatley kitted out to a high standard..hotel is idealy located for getting round oban as nothing is more than a 10-15 minute walk away..this was our 1st visit to oban and regret we could only stay at greystones for 1 night but we will deffo be going back very soon for a lengthier stay..cannot recomend it enough...

Room Tip: our room was a sea view room..view was sublime..
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this luxurious and beautiful home. On our arrival,we were greeted by Mark and Suzanne who were most welcoming. They are very informative,friendly and available,yet allow you as much privacy as you wish. The house itself is stunning. It's an old,beautifully renovated home with wonderful features. The stained glass window at the top of the stairs is absolutely gorgeous. Our room was huge and well appointed. The linens were lovely,the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was large and had plenty of counter space. The towels were large and thick. This was the best shower we had in the U.K.!! The water pressure was awesome! The bay window in our room overlooked the harbor and town. It was so relaxing to sit in the chairs in front of the window with a cup of tea and watch all of the activity. Breakfasts were wonderful. The breakfast room is spacious with individual tables and as I remember,most have excellent views of the bay through the large windows. There is a guest sitting room where you can sit and enjoy a complimentary glass of Sherry. This is an example of the nice little touches that this home offers. You can tell that Mark and Suzanne are very detail oriented. Even the water bottles in the room were appreciated. This is one,if not the best B&B we have ever stayed in,and we have stayed in many over the years. It's very different from most B&B's,almost like an inn or a luxury boutique hotel. We were even glad that it rained one day so that we could spend more time in our room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sappel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Address: 1 Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £123 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greystones 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand baronial townhouse with stunning views of Oban bay, Greystones combines luxury and comfort with unique contemporary interiors. Elegant bedrooms with Egyptian cotton bed linen. Designer bathrooms with indulgent baths and luxury toiletries. Imaginative breakfasts featuring smoked salmon, kedgeree and the traditional Scottish breakfast. Relax and unwind in style with friendly personal service and exceptional attention to detail. A hidden gem in the heart of Oban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing