We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit for 30 years”

Oban Phoenix Cinema
Ranked #1 of 3 Fun & Games in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oban Phoenix Cinema is a community owned cinema which reopened in 2012 after a community campaign to save our cinema. The venue has been upgraded to provide a cinema which you will all want to visit again and again.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First visit for 30 years”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The last time i visited the Phoenix cinema was in 1983. The cinema inside looks fantastic and when i spoke with the friendly manageress, she offered to let me look around. i was really grateful for the opportunity as it brought back so many happy memories from my childhood, and i am pleased that Oban has a well equipped , comfortable stylish cinema. well done to all who continue t ensure the town has this cinema and to the management who ensure the place look immaculate. well done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fraser775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyM246, Manager at Oban Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, let's hope it will not be long before you return to another warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    23
    8
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much more than just a lovely cinema!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a cinema for and by the community, where only a small number of the 'staff' are paid while most are regular volunteers. The main screen is amazing with superb surround sound and super comfortable seats - certainly not what our many visitors expected from a local cinema. It's quite new so still very many things are in development - and the great thing is that everyone who lives in the area can have a say in its future.

We have been plenty of times as a family with kids, as a couple or just a group of friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuschka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyM246, Manager at Oban Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments, as a community owned venue we encourage everyone to feel involved as it does belong to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First visit, would return”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

First time at this cinema, a friend booked tickets and the film was great! Larger screen than I was expecting, with two main seating areas in a well maintained larger screen.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 88Kate138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyM246, Manager at Oban Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
thank you for taking the time to review, we look forward to welcoming you again to the cinema.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just been to see King Lear streamed live from the national theatre . What a fantastic event this was . Other events are in the pipeline please look out for them . Well done deversifying and not just having films . Look file ward to more live streaming a . Thankyou

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyM246, Manager at Oban Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. we are delighted with response to the live streaming and hope to see people enjoying the experience with the full range we have planned over the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly family run cinema”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

First visit to the cinema with our child who has complex needs. We chose an autism friendly showing which was great. Friendly understanding staff. Snacks not overpriced. Definitely return when in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutyM246, Manager at Oban Phoenix Cinema, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
This was our first autism screening. We have to thank our local Carer Centre for assisting with some staff training prior to screening to allow staff to be supportive to our patrons. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oban Phoenix Cinema also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Oban Phoenix Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing