We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A car really is optional in paradise.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
All our holiday homes have great views over Cuan Sound, this is Heather's. Birches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
All our holiday homes have great views over Cuan Sound, this is Heather's.
Birches
Inside Gunnera
Yachts passing by Sunnybrae
The Bridge over the Atlantic on Seil
Port Mary on luing
Friendly dolphins
Our pontoon is available for guests who bring their own boat
Flipper!
Orchid
Our Bothy has laundry facilities, films to watch, ready made meals, barbeque foods etc etc
Otter on our foreshore
Dolphins in Cuan Sound
Seal
Dining area of Heron
Gunnera has a great location, as do all our holiday homes
MV Belnahua - the Luing ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A car really is optional in paradise.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Brilliant park in a perfect location on the fantastic Isle of Luing which measures only 6 miles by 2 miles. Mike the proprietor (lives in bungalow next to site) is usually close at hand for advice and ideas, and there is a bothy full of DVDs and games to borrow on a wet day.

The park entrance being only 100 yards from the ferry slipway meant that our car never left the island between arriving on Saturday and leaving for home a week later. We used it twice on the island and clocked up only 15 miles. We crossed as foot passengers on the ferry, once to get the service bus to Oban for the day and the other time to walk to Easdale by road returning via the coastal path. The remainder of the week we spent walking on Luing right from the caravan door, or just watching the many rainbows and varied wildlife from the windows. We saw the resident herons seals sheep cattle and a wide variety of other wild birds. Bikes can be hired at reasonable rates, also the Postbus does two or three runs a day about the island usually to coincide with the school run for the high school students getting the ferry across en route for Oban Academy. The total population is less than 200 people, but enough for Luing to have its own church and primary school. An excellent small shop and post office is nearby on the island, but also the choice of Lidl Aldi Tesco & Co-op 15 miles away in Oban if you need a trolley full.

For someone like me who drives HGVs for a living this was the perfect "away from it all" location. The lack of driving made this our best holiday for many years.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark E
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best UK caravan holiday 5*!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing time we have had at Sunnybrae. The Isle of Luing is without doubt Scotland's best kept secret. Only 40mins drive from Oban (including a 2 minute ferry crossing), makes it a perfect self-catering holiday. The beauty of Luing's tranquil setting coupled with the close proximatey to such a vibrant town as Oban makes this an ideal family destination.

i could type for hours so I shall keep it short and sweet.
Unbeatable value;Mike (host) was so helpful; the scenery is simply stunning.
Wildlife - Seals (seen daily from our Caravan!)
Eagles
Basking Sharks
Various birds (several herons)

My children absolutely loved it! (Aged 9,7 & 3)

We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJR123190...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This year I decided on a change from our usual family caravan holiday,and came across Sunnybrae.
We are not what you would call a particularly outdoor type family but we all enjoyed our stay immensely.
We stayed in Caravan 3,which is adjacent to the sites slipway with stunning views over the sea to the surrounding hills.
The site is a little remote,and perhaps could do with a nearby shop of some description for essentials(although Mike sells eggs from his own chickens,and a range of local vegetables).
Its remoteness does add to the sites charm though and just a 2 minute ferry ride over to seil and a half an hour drive will take you to into Oban,which is a lovely fishing town with a range of shops,restaurant's and a few decent sized chain stores and supermarkets(Tesco and Coop) to stock up with supplies.
We bought 5 returns for the car,2 adults and 3 kids for just over £40 which is a great saving if you plan to see the surrounding area.
The ferry runs about every half hour during Mon-Sat with a restricted service on Sunday.The Ferry staff are really friendly and professional.

On arrival Mike(the owner) met us at the caravan after we had time to unpack our ridiculously overladen luggage(You may not need as much as you imagine here) as there is no real reason to dress up as is the case with most caravan sites with Evening entertainment,clubhouses etc.
Mikes house is on site on the ridge above the site and he told us not to hesitate to let him know if there were any problems,which there were none at all during our stay thankfully.
The caravan was clean and had constant hot water and comfortable beds/seating.My only gripe being that I wish the previous occupants had washed all of the cups/dishes before they left,which we always make a point of doing.
I was a little worried that our two teenage (15 & 13 year old) kids would struggle to entertain themselves,but I needn't have worried.They actually got on better than I can remember during our stay having to make their own fun.This made Mam and Dads holiday much more relaxing than our previous holidays,Thank God.I have rarely seen them so relaxed.

The weather was really nice on the whole,but changeable,it is Scotland after all.The Bothy,which is located at the top of the site has a large selection of dvd's and games for when the weather is a bit wet -£5 for unlimited rentals!!.
There is a small midge problem in isolated areas at certain times of the day but not nearly as bad as the mainland and not a real inconvenience.
There are also crab lines available in the bothy for catching small crabs off the edge of the slipway which seemed to create some competition between the children on the site during our stay.We lost count of the seals,otters and birds we saw just outside our caravan which only enhances the magic of this place.

It is a quiet site,and may not be to everyone's taste.
Costing a fraction of what the chain company's charge and without the seemingly constant demand for more of your money at every turn during your stay,I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a change from the norm,and those that perhaps don't realise they do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkietal...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“heaven on an island”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

heaven is what this island is, my 1'st time here with my partner and we both had the the best time, the hospitality was second 2 none, the locals were all helpful and friendly, the caravan we were in was like home from home, and the views were out ov this world, we saw seals, herons, dolphins, and that was just out side our caravan, thank you 4 a wonderful stay and i do hope we will be back again real soon,xxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotlandsh...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“peace and quiet, a wonderful haven for relaxation”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd trip to Sunnybrae and we were pleased to see that nothing had changed since our last visit. We stayed in caravan 5 which has the most stunning views across Cuan Sound. The peace and tranquility are second to none and the views are breath-taking. We saw seals and otters this year which really pleased the kids. We also saw many birds including herons and geese. Mike, the owner, made us feel welcome and was always around if we needed anything. The site is well situated and as there are only 7 caravans it is very quiet. The children enjoyed skimming stones and trying their hand at fishing, sadly unsuccessfully on the fish front! Considering that my son is 14 and my daughter is 12 the simple things in life really worked well for them as they didn't pick up their mobile phones for the entire week! The weather was kind to us but it was cold at night. Beds were very comfy and cosy and the van was clean and tidy and quite spacious. Although there is a tv we barely had it turned on as we went back to basics with board games and card games. Sunnybrae is a place to relax and spend quality time with your loved ones before you head home to reality. We loved exploring the island and its history, and the car ferry is always a pleasure to ride! Thank you Mike and your Team for a lovely relaxing holiday. Before I forget, a great place to eat is the Tigh an Truish beside the Bridge over the Atlantic. Food is great and not expensive and the views are beautiful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haventabl...
Perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical place, total chill-out experience”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited Luing twice, and our youngest daughter with her family once, and can honestly say there is something magical about this place. Right on the water's edge, the views, the scenery, the peace and quiet, Sunnybrae itself, all add up to the perfect break.

Best to stock up with supplies in Oban with its range of supermarkets and shops.
As Sunnybrae is within a couple of minutes walk from the ferry slip you can save a fair bit of money by parking your car for free at the North Cuan terminal and travelling over to Luing as a foot passenger. Bikes are available for hire at the site.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbun...
Nass Camp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunnybrae - Our favourite holiday destination!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011 for a stay in May 2011

I found Sunnybrae by accident a couple years ago... and have returned every summer since. The dolphins, otters, and seals are always around, the caravans are awesome (# 3 is the best!!), the Bothey is filled with DVDs, books, games for the kids and crab lines that we use right from the slipway a few steps from our front door. Mike is a great host, we arrived while he was out, and we let ourselves in. He came down in the evening and made sure we were settled in and then we had total privacy the rest of the week! Also, there's nothing like a fresh egg for breakfast, they're available from the free-range hens in the garden for 1.20 for 6! What a bargain! We're coming back again next year, and the year after that. We love Sunnybrae, it's our home away from home without the stress of a long commute (we live in Glasgow, it's 3 hours by car) Highly reccommeded for anyone who likes to fish, dive, walk or read in the sunshine. New picnic tables in 2011 greatly appreciated and used every day. Dogs welcome, kids love it. So do the parents! The ferry schedule is abit of a limitation, but being on an island is such a great experience we don't mind the inconvenience one teensy bit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing