We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Paradise,Truly Magnificent! well...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
All our holiday homes have great views over Cuan Sound, this is Heather's. Birches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
All our holiday homes have great views over Cuan Sound, this is Heather's.
Birches
Inside Gunnera
Yachts passing by Sunnybrae
The Bridge over the Atlantic on Seil
Port Mary on luing
Friendly dolphins
Our pontoon is available for guests who bring their own boat
Flipper!
Orchid
Our Bothy has laundry facilities, films to watch, ready made meals, barbeque foods etc etc
Otter on our foreshore
Dolphins in Cuan Sound
Seal
Dining area of Heron
Gunnera has a great location, as do all our holiday homes
MV Belnahua - the Luing ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JUSTLUCKY...
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise,Truly Magnificent! well deserved 5 Stars! We will definately return!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Sunnybrae Caravan Park is an absolute paradise!
We spent 7 days here and were extrememly fortunate to have the whole park to ourselves!
The owners are very very friendly, extremely helpful and made us fit right in!
The caravan, i can only describe as a 5 star hotel room on wheels!
Very very clean, tidy and with everything you could possibly need.
The grounds are extremly well kept and tidy all around.
Everything is recycled which is great...food, plastic etc.
Looking out from the caravans is truly breathtaking, this is one of Scotland's if not Europes best kept secrets!
Waking up watching Dolphins...otters and seals passing by...awe inspiring!
The ferry is cheap only £5 or £10 per car, but once you are over on Luing, there is no real need to leave!
See if you can spot the magic tree aswell!
Thank you so much for a truly amazing and memorable holiday!
We will definately be back and will always have amazing, perfect memories!
The perfect getaway for a truly quiet, perfect paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supersoni...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfect getaway”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

lived up to all of our expectations but shhhsh don't want to say too much as it will become a holiday hideaway for years to come.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Procurato...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Completely as we expected - Bliss”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Arrived at the Luing Sunnybrae Caravan Park around 3pm on Saturday 13th July to be greeted by Mike the owner and shown to our caravan No:5. We had the most incredible view from our van each morning when we drew back the curtains, the same view of course that was present 24/7. We walked all the walks available to us within the islands perimeters. Visited the island shop a mile or so away at Cullipool which had all we needed as a top up as we decided we would not exit the island the 7 days we were there. Mike has a freezer (At the Bothy) full of gorgeous foods to reheat, recommend the fish pie, awesome. There are a good selection of DVD's also, some books and fresh veg when available. If you want to get away from the stupidity of the city of anywhere for that matter then this is the destination. We had super weather not that that would change anything. Thanks Mike & Jenna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: Coming Home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A perfect paradise and 5* holiday”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How wonderful is Luing and Sunnybrae? Just perfect....Spent a long weekend in Van 4 with the best views ever and even saw an otter and several seals. Our young son adored the place and it's so safe. Mike rents out bikes and you can walk easily around the island.
The vans are well maintained with everything you need and I was pleased that the mattresses on the beds were good quality. Very friendly locals, and Mike is welcoming and close at hand. The Bothy has DVD's , a chest freezer of local dishes and books and crab lines etc. Perfect place to escape the bustle of life and wind down. We miss it terribly and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views and standard of van.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A car really is optional in paradise.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Brilliant park in a perfect location on the fantastic Isle of Luing which measures only 6 miles by 2 miles. Mike the proprietor (lives in bungalow next to site) is usually close at hand for advice and ideas, and there is a bothy full of DVDs and games to borrow on a wet day.

The park entrance being only 100 yards from the ferry slipway meant that our car never left the island between arriving on Saturday and leaving for home a week later. We used it twice on the island and clocked up only 15 miles. We crossed as foot passengers on the ferry, once to get the service bus to Oban for the day and the other time to walk to Easdale by road returning via the coastal path. The remainder of the week we spent walking on Luing right from the caravan door, or just watching the many rainbows and varied wildlife from the windows. We saw the resident herons seals sheep cattle and a wide variety of other wild birds. Bikes can be hired at reasonable rates, also the Postbus does two or three runs a day about the island usually to coincide with the school run for the high school students getting the ferry across en route for Oban Academy. The total population is less than 200 people, but enough for Luing to have its own church and primary school. An excellent small shop and post office is nearby on the island, but also the choice of Lidl Aldi Tesco & Co-op 15 miles away in Oban if you need a trolley full.

For someone like me who drives HGVs for a living this was the perfect "away from it all" location. The lack of driving made this our best holiday for many years.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark E
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best UK caravan holiday 5*!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing time we have had at Sunnybrae. The Isle of Luing is without doubt Scotland's best kept secret. Only 40mins drive from Oban (including a 2 minute ferry crossing), makes it a perfect self-catering holiday. The beauty of Luing's tranquil setting coupled with the close proximatey to such a vibrant town as Oban makes this an ideal family destination.

i could type for hours so I shall keep it short and sweet.
Unbeatable value;Mike (host) was so helpful; the scenery is simply stunning.
Wildlife - Seals (seen daily from our Caravan!)
Eagles
Basking Sharks
Various birds (several herons)

My children absolutely loved it! (Aged 9,7 & 3)

We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJR123190...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This year I decided on a change from our usual family caravan holiday,and came across Sunnybrae.
We are not what you would call a particularly outdoor type family but we all enjoyed our stay immensely.
We stayed in Caravan 3,which is adjacent to the sites slipway with stunning views over the sea to the surrounding hills.
The site is a little remote,and perhaps could do with a nearby shop of some description for essentials(although Mike sells eggs from his own chickens,and a range of local vegetables).
Its remoteness does add to the sites charm though and just a 2 minute ferry ride over to seil and a half an hour drive will take you to into Oban,which is a lovely fishing town with a range of shops,restaurant's and a few decent sized chain stores and supermarkets(Tesco and Coop) to stock up with supplies.
We bought 5 returns for the car,2 adults and 3 kids for just over £40 which is a great saving if you plan to see the surrounding area.
The ferry runs about every half hour during Mon-Sat with a restricted service on Sunday.The Ferry staff are really friendly and professional.

On arrival Mike(the owner) met us at the caravan after we had time to unpack our ridiculously overladen luggage(You may not need as much as you imagine here) as there is no real reason to dress up as is the case with most caravan sites with Evening entertainment,clubhouses etc.
Mikes house is on site on the ridge above the site and he told us not to hesitate to let him know if there were any problems,which there were none at all during our stay thankfully.
The caravan was clean and had constant hot water and comfortable beds/seating.My only gripe being that I wish the previous occupants had washed all of the cups/dishes before they left,which we always make a point of doing.
I was a little worried that our two teenage (15 & 13 year old) kids would struggle to entertain themselves,but I needn't have worried.They actually got on better than I can remember during our stay having to make their own fun.This made Mam and Dads holiday much more relaxing than our previous holidays,Thank God.I have rarely seen them so relaxed.

The weather was really nice on the whole,but changeable,it is Scotland after all.The Bothy,which is located at the top of the site has a large selection of dvd's and games for when the weather is a bit wet -£5 for unlimited rentals!!.
There is a small midge problem in isolated areas at certain times of the day but not nearly as bad as the mainland and not a real inconvenience.
There are also crab lines available in the bothy for catching small crabs off the edge of the slipway which seemed to create some competition between the children on the site during our stay.We lost count of the seals,otters and birds we saw just outside our caravan which only enhances the magic of this place.

It is a quiet site,and may not be to everyone's taste.
Costing a fraction of what the chain company's charge and without the seemingly constant demand for more of your money at every turn during your stay,I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a change from the norm,and those that perhaps don't realise they do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing