We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the countryside.”
Review of Merlin Trike Tours

Merlin Trike Tours
Ranked #6 of 18 Tours in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Merlin Trike Tours are based in Oban on the west coast of Scotland. We offer chauffeur driven tours and trips around the beautiful lochs and glens of the Highlands. But these are trips with a difference – your transport is a trike, which will give you a fantastic open air experience as you enjoy the fabulous scenery on your ultimate road trip.It’s fun, it’s safe and it’s suitable for most ages.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to see the countryside.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife has always wanted to try a motor trike so we booked with Chris. He supplied us with all-in-one padded, waterproof gear, gloves and helmet. His motor trike was gleaming and spotless. As we had just been to Benderloch which is his usual trip he asked where we would like to go so we headed off to Seill Island and the Atlantic bridge. Exhilirating ride and Chris was a good host. Most enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“And now for something completely different”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked this trip at short notice but Chris was very accommodating and was willing to fit in around the weather if rain threatened. He was very attentive to our comfort and safety and so we could simply enjoy the scenery and experience the joy of the ride on his beautiful trike.
We would like to book a longer ride next time. Thanks Chris and good luck

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Way to see the Sights of Oban and the Surrounding Area”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I booked a one hour trip as a surprise for my daughter's 13th birthday and we loved it. On the day of the booking Chris phoned to give us the option of delaying our trip until later in the day when the weather was due to improve or going out in the rain with the wet weather gear on. We opted for the former.

Chris arrived bang on time with the trike decked out in balloons and Happy Birthday banners which miraculously stayed on for the entire trip. Having been in and around Oban a few times before we were familiar with the area and were looking forward to the experience of being out on a trike. However, it turns out we only thought we knew the area and Chris took us off the beaten track giving us interesting commentary along the way of the various sights.

Being first-timers on a trike Chris made sure that we were comfortable and at ease, even taking some pictures for us on our phones. This was a fantastic experience and whilst it was our first time on the trike it certainly won't be our last.

My daughter and I highly recommend this unique Oban experience for both new visitors and those who have been to Oban many times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see the magical beauty of this part of the world”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife booked a trip with Merlin Trike Tours as an alternative way to enjoy the scenery of this beautiful area
We didn't really know what to expect, but upon meeting Chris the driver, who has an infectious personality, we were immediately at ease, and enjoyed every minute of his wonderful tour, and his company
His knowledge of the area is unbeatable, and allowed us to see places and attractions which we haven't seen before, on our many visits to this area
The day tour was wonderful, enjoying ourselves so much, the time passed only too quickly
We will definately be booking another tour the next time we return to this wonderful town
THIS TOUR IS A MUST IF YOUR IN THE AREA

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorfamilyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A fantastic idea”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

My daughter and her fiancé went on the one hour Oban - Benderloch Trike Tour today, as part of her birthday gift from myself. They had an amazing time. I was very impressed with the whole experience. Booking and communication prior to the Tour is excellent, including a telephone call the day before to finalise and check arrangements. The Trike and equipment ( waterproof clothing, helmet and gloves) are top class. Chris was superb, ensuring all was safe and correct before my daughter and her fiancé left. They said the whole experience was fantastic and were treated to about 10-15 minutes extra as it was my daughter's birthday. I think this is an excellent tourist resource for Oban and wish Chris all the very best as he embarks on this venture full time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaneyBOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merlin Trike Tours also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Merlin Trike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing