We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day and we are already thinking of coming back”

Basking Shark Scotland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the only dedicated basking shark tours based from Oban, Scotland. We offer single and multi day shark and wildlife excursions to the Inner Hebrides, where our mission is to provide great interactions with basking sharks and the abundant wildlife of the area. In addition we run, Whisky tours, Scuba and Snorkel Safaris, WIld Swimming, Trips to Corrvreckan, Fingals Cave and Iona.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went for a Seals Swimming tour with three children aged 10,11 and 14, two of whom do not speak English and we all had no such experience (swimming in the cold sea and snorkelling, all was alient for us)
But, the tour was guided by such a lovely team, that all our worries disappeared immediately. Esther, Luke and Cameron were very passionate and caring and always on a watch for a wildlife (on land and sea) to show us and tell some interesting info. Tour is lovely organise and worse every penny! We felt that we were looked after by professionals and felt safe!
But main "plus" point: how brilliant they were with our children! Children had the best coaching we could ask for and even hot chocolate!

Thank Olya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneWasik, Owner at Basking Shark Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your day with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I visited Basking Shark Scotland as the European Rolex Scholar and it was an excellent experience! Even though we didn't find basking sharks as it was the beginning of the season, the experienced crew (Shane, Eszter and Luke) took us to stunning places! We interacted with beautiful seals in very clear waters and we snorkelled around Coll Island. If you haven't been here yet you should go!! At this time of the year (june) it is surprisingly warm and full of wildlife

Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneWasik, Owner at Basking Shark Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks Elena, good luck for the future, you have great ideas for shark conservation and we wish you all the best with your endeavours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent the day looking for Basking sharks of Mull and Coll, The team were excellent and knew all the area its wildlife and did everything to make the day enjoyable - the team supported every member of the group and answered all the question that they could - fulyl recommend Shane, Ester and the team.

Thank brianjm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneWasik, Owner at Basking Shark Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the trip with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'd booked with shane for a seal swim trip for myself, partner and our three girls, 13,15,16. We had exchanged a lot of emails and he was very quick to respond and informative of everything I needed to know, regardless of how many questions I had.
two days prior, he emailed to say there had been shark sightings and that's what they were hoping to try to see, how did we feel about this? we were more than happy to do so, as long as the girls got a little swim with the seals.
friday came, and ill be honest, I didn't expect a shark sighting.how wrong was I?
we saw five! and once our eldest had been shown very calmly how to snorkel, and put her at ease in deep water, we got to swim towards them, following shane and listening to his instructions.
we were rewarded with fantastic close views next to and underneath us for what felt like ages.
the search for seals was forgotten as the girls hyped over how it was the most awesome thing they had ever seen and we set off in search of more sharks. They proved a little elusive for the rest of the day, but it didn't matter, it had been way beyond our expectations and we will definately be coming back for a longer trip with them.
I can't recommend these guys enough, their knowledge and passion for what they do, and patience with us was exceptional, and the collecting of plankton was very interesting, a great understanding into what lurks beneath that you wouldn't normally see. Many many thanks.

Thank dollyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneWasik, Owner at Basking Shark Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks for the review guys, just getting round to all the responses now. I remember the day and glad we got all the girls in. Hope they still remember it! Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked up the swimming with seals trip. Was fantastic .... lots of seals around and beautiful location, clear water and sandy shores. Will definitely be back one day. The staff were very attentive and informative.

Thank TraceyMc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneWasik, Owner at Basking Shark Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed the lagoon. Wonderful place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basking Shark Scotland also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Basking Shark Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing