We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it seems from the outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palava - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Palava
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what it seems from the outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just wanted cake and tea but had not tried this place as we were put off by the outside. Not sure why. Inside however the décor is good and the tables and chairs are of solid wood. Good, friendly service. We wished we had tried it before. Only problem for me was the ladies facilities were up a few flights of stairs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No Palava, just good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Visited this restaurant on a recent trip to Oban and was greatly impressed with the service and the meal. We had friendly and fast service and the meal did not disappoint either. I would recommend this restaurant whether for a meal or snack, and would add their pancakes are amazing

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peeblesshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The food here was very very nice and I enjoyed a nice meal. However the staff were either very busy or seemed slightly inexperienced. We waited quite a while to be asked for our order to eat and then sat for about 20 minutes with empty dishes. A girl then took our plates away and asked us if we would like anything else, we said no just the bill. We then waited a further 20 minutes without anyone even coming over to our table and finally just had to go downstairs to pay.

The place was clean and very well set out, and as I said the food was delicious - just would have liked better service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was really a palava!! Name says it all!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Restaurant had only 12 covers in. Took 50 mins for food to arrive. Then another 40 mins for pancakes. Which were not served how we ordered them. When main meal arrived it was cold.. Service was slow and not everything we ordered turned up. Was then over charged. Didn't want to complain as we just wanted to get out of there fast!! Asked them to take items that weren't served off the bill. Only to find more was added on!! Shocking service. Food was barely edible and restaurant was worse.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zoet89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast and coffee.Lovely staff however the restaurant is quite cold..may have been just because we arrived there early morning. Huge breakfast..we ordered the Midi breakfast and it was more than sufficient!!!! Yum!!

Helpful?
1 Thank pixiebellEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palava also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing