We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay a little Longer (board displaying B&B)”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamilton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton House
Ranked #81 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stay a little Longer (board displaying B&B)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The above Reviews appear to be referring to a totally different B&B to the one I am talking of. The building outside is actually quite plausible, in that it looked ok. We were given the key to Room 2, well I was'nt prepared for what lay ahead. It Appeared, in our opinion, that the bed linen had not been changed, certainly for more than One night. The Duvet was lumpy all over, and the en suite, was, although appeared to be clean enough, was really Dingey, and dark. We were asked for the money upfront, which was very unusual, it was implied to us the Landlord would be seeking the money before we went to sleep. We were in Scotland for a week, and stayed in some wonderful B&B,s,which were the same price, as we were asked to pay for this one, and, the difference in Standards, was Staggering.The Landlord of the establishment, seemed to Us, to be very agitated, when we asked where Breakfast would be served in morning, he said he had already told my friend, but did'nt show any of us, where it was. I felt very uneasy and uncomfortable, and indeed afraid. We have just returned home today.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod C, Owner at Hamilton House, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
This review is totally inaccurate. I will refresh your memory. You came in and I showed you two double rooms as you were a party of
four (Two couples). You came back about half an hour later and looked at the rooms again. You decided to take the rooms and were
told that it was payment on arrival and your comment was “do you not trust people from Northern Ireland”. It is common practice to
take payment upfront in this day and age. You signed in at around 3pm and left a £10 deposit and stated that you would pay the
balance on your return. Your attitude was arrogant and suspicious and you seemed more concerned about parking your two vintage
cars and trailer. In the meantime, I understand, you visited several other guest houses looking for private parking. You were in Oban
from about 11am that day, so I would have thought that you would have had your accommodation sorted out long before late evening.
You asked where breakfast was served and you were told twice where the dining room was and the times of breakfast.
You came back about 8pm and again asked about breakfast. You sneaked out of our guest house between 8:30 and 9pm having
already booked into another guest house which had private parking. If you had any complaints in the five hours you held the keys to
your rooms, I would have been more than willing to discuss them with you.
As for the suspicion that the beds had not been changed, I take GREAT OFFENCE to that remark as we are meticulous in making sure
that our beds have freshly laundered sheets and duvet covers every day and as for the duvet being lumpy, I can assure you that the
duvet on that bed was a silk one and only looked lumpy after you had pulled the bed apart. As for your comment about being afraid!! I
am a 71 year old man and you were 4 middle aged people????
I do not think you had any intentions of staying, but held on to the rooms as a backup and then sneaked of. I will remind you that
having signed in and left a deposit, you contracted to take the rooms and you have a balance of £130 outstanding. I am more than
willing to accept fair criticism but this review was obviously written with malice to justify the fact that you were booked into another
guest house with the private parking which you clearly wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley traveler
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at Hamilton House with 8 other ladies on our one night in Oban on our way to Iona. Eilidh was so accommodating and lovely to work with, and our rooms were clean, comfortable, and very cozy. I highly recommend Hamilton House!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESchweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

First B&B we saw coming into Oban, so we decided to give it a try, which was a good decision. Friendly host, nice clean rooms, close to the town centre and the breakfast was freshly made and very nice. Very reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SReissl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Driving in to Oban you come to a roundabout turn left to the Town Center and the first house on the left is Hamilton House. Nice stone built building, with double glazing and if you are in Room 2 a view of the sea.
Room was very clean with en-suite shower room, breakfast was cooked to order so nothing going cold and hard. Fresh Tea and Coffee, nothing at all to complain about.
A chatty host who makes you feel welcome, car park across the road.
You are soon in the Town 5 minutes or less and there are pubs and restaurants, reasonable shopping and 5 minutes brings you to the promenade.
So a perfect place to stay and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the front with sea view, double glazing keeps noise out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie2foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House

Property: Hamilton House
Address: Hamilton House Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Hamilton House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing