We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel.”
Review of Corran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corran House
Ranked #13 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent two nights in Oban. Being on a budget, I booked a triple ensuite room in Corran house. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean and spacious. Pity that there is no internet connection in the rooms, you have to go in the Sitting Room to go online, and even there the connection is weak. The Sitting room has a weird smell, you know like in your great grand fathers house, I guess the leather and fur are the reason of this interesting smell, since the sofas are made of blue leather and the pillows of what seemed to be fox fur. The kitchen is functional and clean. You can bring your own food and store it in the guest fridge. You can also make your own breakfast with the food available in the other fridge. You will just have to leave some coins in the "bocal of trust" or I don't remember its exact name, but I liked the idea. On friday night, there was music in the bar downstairs and teenagers partying upstairs but we could not hear any noise from our room so it was fine.

I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piparianais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked this hotel with some reservation, as it was the last available place, very cheap and some reviews were extremely unflattering.

On arrival, we were shown to our room, which was a very good sized twin with an en-suite toilet/shower; everything was immaculately clean. Breakfast arrangements were outlined - you cook for yourself with your own food or items purchased from a stash in the kitchen. This works well because you choose what you want, but you are expected to wash up! You also need to provide your own shampoo/shower gel.

The hotel is well positioned, quiet and offers good sleep quality. I spoke to the owner, who seems to be the source of most of the negative feelings, but she was friendly, helpful and anxious to make sure we had a good stay, But I wouldn't rub her up the wrong way with trivial complaints or unreasonable requests because she clearly does not suffer fools easily!

Overall, this is a clean, comfortable but slightly unconventional hotel which offers excellent value. Just make sure you read the blurb so you know what is included and what is not. Would we stay again? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonythekingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a kayaking trip with work colleagues. The place is extremely good value, rooms are basic but clean & functional. Breakfast was excellent both mornings & the staff were friendly. Really can't complain about any aspect of this - for the price we paid it was very good indeed. The bar was good in the evenings with live music & a nice atmosphere - there was some noise from the bar that got through to our ground-floor-room, but nothing exceptional. Lots of games, books, tv, wifi, etc for those that needed them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked an en-suite double room as a treat for our first anniversary. We had considered some of the more 'upmarket' hotels but decided to look for something a bit more simple and less expensive. This looked like a nice place with good reviews for a more simple stay. I'm so glad we went with this! The room we got was amazing - large spacious room, tremendous sea view, simple but sturdy and quality furnishings (carpet was on it's way out but who cares!), sofa, simple wee bathroom. Only thing missing from a B&B or more traditional "guest house" was tea and coffee making facilities, but this is a hostel / guest house and there is a communal kitchen downstairs where you can get a cuppa if you want. Also in the kitchen is breads, jams, eggs, yoghurts, teas, coffees, milks, amongst other stuff that you can help yourself to and pay a small fee into an honesty jar for what you have. The lady that seemed to run it was a very friendly and helpful woman, down to earth. The bar underneath was a good atmosphere - there was excellent live music the night we were there and the place was busy. We obviously stayed in one of the more expensive rooms, so I can't comment on bunk rooms or the shared bathrooms, but if they are anywhere near the quality of what we got (certainly above what we expected) for our money, you're laughing. We'll definitely go back. One more thing - very handy location. Not too central, but central enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in late June in a family room that was warm & cosy & was ideal for 2 adults & 3 kids - we even had a view of the sea (sort of...). Everything was impressively clean - we've stayed in worse hotels than this & would definitely stay here again. The ensuite was perfectly adequate & kitchen was well appointed with everything you'd need. It was also great to be able to "escape" for a short while to their bar Markie Dans, just downstairs & although a wee bit noisy, it was a quaint enough place to enjoy a cool pint. The staff we had dealings with were friendly & courteous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerandcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Arrived after midnight (off the Outer Isles ferry) - was not a problem, as we had booked.
We got a lovely big room with ensuite bath/shower room overlooking the bay.
Corran House is VERY clean and our king size bed was very comfortable. We were given a plenty of fresh towels.
In the morning we helped ourselves to breakfast from the kitchen (leaving a donation - which is a really good arrangement) since we do not eat a cooked breakfast anyway, so this suited us really well.
Corran House can be highly recommended for people of all ages who want a clean bed for the night and DIY kitchen facilities. We will continue to use this place for a stop over in Oban.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabarscotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Great rooms but not much of an atmosphere even though the owner is actually nice when you get to know her. But probably to big and busy to feel homely. You have to pay small amounts for everything like coffee breakfast etc. but you will find all you need in the morning. Big kitchen with a fridge for the guests and many tables with a nice view on the port. Everything was very clean and I will probably try to stay there if I ever go back to Oban .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martanied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran House

Address: Corran Esplanade | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £27 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Corran House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Corran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing