We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corran House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corran House
Ranked #14 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Overall very impressed with our stay, rooms are very comfortable, the only drawback was the showers. We stayed on the top floor and had to use the bathroom on the floor below, whilst clean the water pressure was not existent and it was like standing under a hose.... The showers below we're fine... As we ended up using them for the remainder of our stay. The location was awesome and I would stay there again

Room Tip: If staying on the top floor don't use the bathroom below, go down a further flight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    135
    40
    16
    21
See reviews for
89
97
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed at 4 hostels in Oban over the years and have found this one to be the best. I stayed recently with my partner. We had a twin ensuite room that was spacious, spotlessly clean, and comfortably furnished. It was much more like a hotel room than a hostel room, and a good hotel room at that. We had a good sleep as the beds were comfortable and there was no noise at all, despite the fact that our room was just up the stairs from the main reception area. We didn't have any disturbance from the bar below. I think that if you want to avoid noise from the bar, ask for a room that faces the back of the hotel (not a sea view room) as it is very quiet back there. We sat in the lounge to access the wifi but noticed it was accessible from our room as well. The lounge was very cosy with many couches, a stereo, a keyboard and a telly if wanted. We didn't use the kitchen but it appeared bright, well equipped, and clean. The person who helped us at check-in was friendly and told us everything we needed to know. The room was great value (especially compared to the facilities and prices of other hostels in Oban) and the location is good - just outside the centre but very easy walking distance (5 minutes), and parking just beside the hostel is free between 6pm-9am (80p per hour otherwise). I'll continue to book here when staying in Oban.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and have no bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband daughter and I needed one night's accomodation in Oban. Although the picture when we booked it showed a double bed and two single beds we were shown to a room with three bunk beds. The room was clean and when we complained that the tv didn't work they did change it. The BIG problem was the bar downstairs. It was so noisy that despite being three floors above it was impossible to get to sleep. When we returned to the hotel after dinner all the exceedingly drunk revellers were all over the entrance to the hotel and it was quite intimidating to push our way through them. There was also a girl passed out in her own vomit lying on the ground by our car where we wanted to get our bags out. My daughter and i were quite nervous and my husband just plain furious. This place is not in anyway suitable for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent two nights in Oban. Being on a budget, I booked a triple ensuite room in Corran house. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean and spacious. Pity that there is no internet connection in the rooms, you have to go in the Sitting Room to go online, and even there the connection is weak. The Sitting room has a weird smell, you know like in your great grand fathers house, I guess the leather and fur are the reason of this interesting smell, since the sofas are made of blue leather and the pillows of what seemed to be fox fur. The kitchen is functional and clean. You can bring your own food and store it in the guest fridge. You can also make your own breakfast with the food available in the other fridge. You will just have to leave some coins in the "bocal of trust" or I don't remember its exact name, but I liked the idea. On friday night, there was music in the bar downstairs and teenagers partying upstairs but we could not hear any noise from our room so it was fine.

I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piparianais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked this hotel with some reservation, as it was the last available place, very cheap and some reviews were extremely unflattering.

On arrival, we were shown to our room, which was a very good sized twin with an en-suite toilet/shower; everything was immaculately clean. Breakfast arrangements were outlined - you cook for yourself with your own food or items purchased from a stash in the kitchen. This works well because you choose what you want, but you are expected to wash up! You also need to provide your own shampoo/shower gel.

The hotel is well positioned, quiet and offers good sleep quality. I spoke to the owner, who seems to be the source of most of the negative feelings, but she was friendly, helpful and anxious to make sure we had a good stay, But I wouldn't rub her up the wrong way with trivial complaints or unreasonable requests because she clearly does not suffer fools easily!

Overall, this is a clean, comfortable but slightly unconventional hotel which offers excellent value. Just make sure you read the blurb so you know what is included and what is not. Would we stay again? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonythekingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a kayaking trip with work colleagues. The place is extremely good value, rooms are basic but clean & functional. Breakfast was excellent both mornings & the staff were friendly. Really can't complain about any aspect of this - for the price we paid it was very good indeed. The bar was good in the evenings with live music & a nice atmosphere - there was some noise from the bar that got through to our ground-floor-room, but nothing exceptional. Lots of games, books, tv, wifi, etc for those that needed them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked an en-suite double room as a treat for our first anniversary. We had considered some of the more 'upmarket' hotels but decided to look for something a bit more simple and less expensive. This looked like a nice place with good reviews for a more simple stay. I'm so glad we went with this! The room we got was amazing - large spacious room, tremendous sea view, simple but sturdy and quality furnishings (carpet was on it's way out but who cares!), sofa, simple wee bathroom. Only thing missing from a B&B or more traditional "guest house" was tea and coffee making facilities, but this is a hostel / guest house and there is a communal kitchen downstairs where you can get a cuppa if you want. Also in the kitchen is breads, jams, eggs, yoghurts, teas, coffees, milks, amongst other stuff that you can help yourself to and pay a small fee into an honesty jar for what you have. The lady that seemed to run it was a very friendly and helpful woman, down to earth. The bar underneath was a good atmosphere - there was excellent live music the night we were there and the place was busy. We obviously stayed in one of the more expensive rooms, so I can't comment on bunk rooms or the shared bathrooms, but if they are anywhere near the quality of what we got (certainly above what we expected) for our money, you're laughing. We'll definitely go back. One more thing - very handy location. Not too central, but central enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran House

Property: Corran House
Address: Corran Esplanade | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Corran House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Corran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing