We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best guest house in Oban.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fabulous guest house, beautiful rooms pristine condition. Lovely shower room with fluffy towels.Everything you could thing of for breakfast to set you up for the rest of the day. Friendly staff eager to help you enjoy your stay. The best place to stay in Oban.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a three days back in September, after it being recommended by another guesthouse owner that was fully booked. We were certainly not disappointed - our room was huge, had been recently decorated, featured a very comfortable super king size bed and not least an amazing view of Oban bay through the bay window.

The guest-house staff were really welcoming, especially the lady at breakfast.

There is free parking on site, and it is only a short stroll into the town centre, where some pubs and restaurants were on offer.

If ever in Oban again, I would definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room….
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTaylor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I would highly recommend it. The rooms have recently been totally refurbished and they are completed to a very high standard with lots of very nice, thoughtful, touches - in fact it was so nice I nearly didn't want to go out for my evening meal! ...and the view from the bay window would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. The bigger rooms are nicer than the small room - but there is definitely nothing wrong with any of them. Huge bed (that is very comfortable), flat screen tv, sherry in the decanter, lots of little thoughtful extras - in the large room we even got a complimentary towelling robe. Breakfast was excellent - beautifully presented and it tasted fantastic too. The owner and staff were very helpful in answering questions about the surrounding area and how to get to other places - and their advice was good and easy to follow. They really put themselves out to help us and accomodate our requests - way above the call of duty. This Guest House punches well above its weight and I would not hesitate to recommend it any visitor. Well worth the money!! ...and the centre of Oban and the ferry terminal are well within walking distrance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I decided to pay extra to have a room with a loch view at Mackays and it was so worth it! The room had recently been redecorated and was beautiful, it was a large room with a great size shower. There were 2 large armchairs by the bay window for sitting and enjoying the beautiful view of the large loch. Only a short walk to town and the breakfast and owners were fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackree66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gudrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda74250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: nach vorne zum Wasser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HGLFlensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.5 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKay's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKay's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £103 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MacKay's Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MacKay's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKay's Bed And Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing