We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A professional Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Manse Guest House
Ranked #13 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Piedmont, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A professional Guest House”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Old Manse House is less than ten minutes walk from the sea, with a wide view on Oban’s harbour.
We received a double room (although we were only two), very comfortable and wide: only bathroom needs a bit of modernization. Simon was a very kind and professional host: we had one morning to leave very early, and he gave us a take away breakfast. Normal breakfast too is very good, with a big choice of hot plates. All the house is tidy and very quiet. Warmly recommended. N.B.: booking through Direct Rooms has a fee

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitea59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    40
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
212
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed only one night at the Old Manse as we were visiting Oban for the Argyllshire gathering. It's handy to the town centre with off road parking and, as it sits on a hill, has wonderful views of the bay and islands. Our room was quite dated in its decor but was clean and comfortable, although some decent pillows wouldn't go astray. The banana pancakes were delicious. Overall, our stay at the Old Manse was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matacosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful two days as part of our 47th wedding anniversary celebrations in this beautiful house. Simon and Anna were superb hosts, so friendly and accommodating, especially in catering for my wife's gluten free diet.
The room was special, with a wonderful view across the sea to Mull. The garden is so quiet and restful and was a boon in the glorious weather. We certainly 'dined liked kings' with the superb breakfasts served up by Anna. We certainly would recommend the Old Manse to anyone wanting to visit Oban.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianmreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I had a marvelous stay here in May. The location is great, easy walk to the local shops, restaurants, etc. We had an ideal weekend stay and only wished we could have had another day or 2 to enjoy more of Simon and Anna's hospitality. They truly know how to make guests feel welcome and appreciated. I can't say enough good things about Simon. He was so helpful in his restaurant recommendations and we were never disappointed. He made every effort to ensure we were able to get to our train on time when we had to leave. This is a lovely place to call home on your vacation and there are fun excursions from Oban to other nearby sites. I would stay again if I have another chance to travel to Scotland.

Janice & Grant

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We got our booking via a cancellation, boy, am I glad they did!
Anna and Simon were perfect hosts, they really work hard and thoroughly deserve their 4 star rating.
The full Scottish Breakfast deserves a special mention, it's made with the best of ingredients and cooked to perfection.
Our room was very nice and the en-suite bathroom was huge!
The view across Oban towards Mull is picture postcard beautiful.
We vowed to come back soon and will certainly try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBMAC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our family of four, with two teenage boys, had a fantastic three night stay here. The property is superbly located just a short walk from the Main Street of Oban. The house itself is in great condition and we found our family room to be quite large with an adjoining room with two twin beds. The hosts, Simon and Anna, were very nice and their advice for things to do were perfect for us. We found the cooked breakfasts good and served in an efficient manner. If you are a family looking for a good base in Oban, you should stay here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a short but wonderful break at this lovely guest house set on the hill that overlooks Oban out westwards to Mull. A friendly welcome set the standard for the service throughout, with attention to detail helping to make a real home from home. Helpful local and tourist advice proved invaluable. Good beds, good food, well tendered garden and parking on site added up to a memorable time and a wish to return. Simon and Anna well deserve their prestigious 4-star rating from Scottish Tourism.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the house look out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 94 in Oban
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Guest House

Property: The Old Manse Guest House
Address: The Old Manse Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Manse Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fine victorian villa in its own beautiful grounds which has been lovingly restored to provide first class bed and breakfast accomodation. Stunning sea views, peaceful gardens and only 2 minutes from town.Off road parking for all. Free Wi-fi. Freshly cooked breakfast from a varied menu from porridge and pancakes to fish and full Scottish; we are happy to cater for all diets. Nothing is too much trouble to help you enjoy a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Manse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Guest House Hotel Oban
The Old Manse Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing