We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, comfortable room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #34 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large, comfortable room, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had a nice experience here while travelling with a friend. We had a very large - long and narrow - room with two singles and a lounge area. Clean, modern, and nice views of the water. Dinner was also good. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    74
    32
    22
    26
See reviews for
42
137
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

One night stay in the downstairs accommodation which was clean and set to a good standard. Unfortunately the guests upstairs could be heard talking and walking around very easily.
The staff were very friendly, with wifi available and the cooked breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: upstairs room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The lunch menu in the restaurant is adequate and reasonably priced. The portions are large and the service was quick and friendly. It's not 4* but for a quick lunch stop, this is a good place with lovely views over the marina and castle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were on a yacht that berthed at the marina. The options were cook our own or eat here.

We ordered a round of drinks and they got the order wrong - they had heard one of the crew describing what beers were available to another of the crew and had taken this as an order. when we pointed this error out there was no offer of correcting it.

The food was ordinary and expensive and the service slow. Our coffees were served so farin advance of the desert that they were cold and we had to ask for replacements.

Overall a poor meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night July 2012. Room was clean with wonderful views over marina even in the rain! Evening meal in busy restaurant had the fattest moules mariniere ever seen and the king scallops were delicious although too much balsamic. Agree with others that TV was far too small.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking yacht marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in a disabled ground floor room, it was nicely furnished and clean. The tv is tiny. The first day I had to give my husband a shower he'd only been in it a couple of minutes and the water went stone cold, as I was part way he had to finish with a very cold rinse. I left it half hour and the water was hot again, so I also had a very quick shower which ended up going cold.I phoned the reception and the girl was very helpful and got in touch with the owner who arrived a couple of hours later and said he would get it fixed the next day. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was of a very high standard and breakfast was excellent. The staff are very friendly. We really enjoyed it there despite the cold shower, it is a few miles out of Oban and needs to come down a bit in price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

This look great on the website but turned out to be in need of renovation. I can only comment on our room of course which was a disabled room. The shower curtain was disgusting, the shower floor was slimey when wet, we only got one shower out of the available hot water before it turned cold, the televison microscopic, the window blinds were broken and hanging badly and there were a number of less significant things wrong with the room that I won't mention as I am not going to be picky. However if you lumped everything together it told the story of a once nicely furnished room which had seen better days and was in serious need of renovation. It was overpriced and was only worth £40 per night....it was a real dissapointment. On a plus we had to leave early to catch a ferry and as it was too early for breakfast we were offered a packed lunch [which we didn't take advantage of] which we thought was a nice thought. We won't be staying again needless to say.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.4 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#4 of 9 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#3 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#32 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Property: The Wide Mouthed Frog
Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing