We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight to Ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #42 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed one night when taking the ferry to Mull, found the place was just what we needed. Clean room, friendly staff good choice on the menu.
Don't be put off by first impression, like all good things, it's often better than skin deep.
We'd use it again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had a nice experience here while travelling with a friend. We had a very large - long and narrow - room with two singles and a lounge area. Clean, modern, and nice views of the water. Dinner was also good. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

One night stay in the downstairs accommodation which was clean and set to a good standard. Unfortunately the guests upstairs could be heard talking and walking around very easily.
The staff were very friendly, with wifi available and the cooked breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: upstairs room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The lunch menu in the restaurant is adequate and reasonably priced. The portions are large and the service was quick and friendly. It's not 4* but for a quick lunch stop, this is a good place with lovely views over the marina and castle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishingvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were on a yacht that berthed at the marina. The options were cook our own or eat here.

We ordered a round of drinks and they got the order wrong - they had heard one of the crew describing what beers were available to another of the crew and had taken this as an order. when we pointed this error out there was no offer of correcting it.

The food was ordinary and expensive and the service slow. Our coffees were served so farin advance of the desert that they were cold and we had to ask for replacements.

Overall a poor meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night July 2012. Room was clean with wonderful views over marina even in the rain! Evening meal in busy restaurant had the fattest moules mariniere ever seen and the king scallops were delicious although too much balsamic. Agree with others that TV was far too small.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking yacht marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in a disabled ground floor room, it was nicely furnished and clean. The tv is tiny. The first day I had to give my husband a shower he'd only been in it a couple of minutes and the water went stone cold, as I was part way he had to finish with a very cold rinse. I left it half hour and the water was hot again, so I also had a very quick shower which ended up going cold.I phoned the reception and the girl was very helpful and got in touch with the owner who arrived a couple of hours later and said he would get it fixed the next day. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was of a very high standard and breakfast was excellent. The staff are very friendly. We really enjoyed it there despite the cold shower, it is a few miles out of Oban and needs to come down a bit in price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
2.9 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
837 reviews
5.1 mi away
Braeside Guesthouse
Braeside Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Kilmore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £89 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing